My Life, According To Chicago

This is more a Friday Five times Four…

Anyway, I’ve seen a number of people do this meme, most recently Jeffrey, although most of my crowd has done it.

Using only song names from ONE ARTIST OR BAND, answer the following questions. Try not to use the band I used, or repeat a song title. (It’s a lot harder than you think!) Publish as “My Life According to (BAND NAME)” and link back to this post.

 

So, I chose the band Chicago, and here are my questions and answers…

1.) Are you a male or female?
The Inner Struggles of a Man

2.) Describe yourself.
I’m A Man

3.) How do you feel?
Anyway You Want

4.) Describe where you currently live.
Hideaway

5.) If you could go anywhere, where would you go?
Old Days

6.) Your favourite form of transportation.
Flight 602

7.) Your best friend is…
Life Saver

8.) Your favourite colour.
South California Purples

9.) What’s the weather like?
Wake Up Sunshine

10.) Favourite time of the day.
Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?

11.) If your life was a TV show, what would it be called?
Free Form Guitar

12.) What is life to you?
Beginnings

13.) Your relationships.
Questions 67 and 68

14.) Your fear.
If You Leave Me Now

15.) What is the best advice you have to give?
Loneliness is Just A Word

16.) If you could change your name, you would change it to…
Skinny Boy

17.) Thought for the day.
Something In This City Changes People

18.) How you would like to die.
Stone of Sisyphus

19.) Your present condition.
Feelin’ Stronger Every Day

20.) Your motto.
Take Me Back To Chicago

And, seeing as it is me that’s doing this, here’s a playlist with all the aforementioned songs.

Yeah, I’m crazy. That’s your Friday Five for March 11, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

17 thoughts on “My Life, According To Chicago”

  1. I didn’t know all of these songs since I haven’t kept up with probably most of Chicago’s albums. They are a great group though and these titles fit very well. I too would like to go back to the “Old Days” just to see what things were like, but I’d likely want to come back.

    Nice job. I think I should go back to explore some of the Chicago albums that I missed.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. I had all of them through VIII on vinyl, and have the mp3’s of the first three, VII, and XI (the last with Terry Kath, who was buried the day I got married). I have a birthday coming up… maybe I need to get the rest of the Terry Kath era albums…

      Like

  2. This just inspired me to put on a CHICAGO disc. Love ’em. Always did. At one point, in the LP era, I think I had every single album up through about 11 or so.

    Favorite Chicago song: ‘OLD DAYS’. Makes me sad. And CHICAGO X has one of the best album covers ever conceived. It’s hard to refrain from biting into it. Ha!

    I especially loved your answer to #10.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

    1. I have the vinyl on 1 thru 8, including Chicago at Carnegie Hall (which was awful; even they didn’t like it). I haven’t had a turntable in 20 years, and the albums have sat in my garage for at least that long. I bought the first three and 7 when Rhino reissued them, and bought 11 because it was Terry Kath’s last. Having heard them again, I plan on getting the other four from the Terry Kath era (9 was a “greatest hits” collection, typical for record companies who have lost or fired acts; 10 was on Warner Bros. after Columbia dropped them). Kath was really the heart and soul of the band, a badly-underrated player (I always thought the guys who worshipped Jimi Hendrix and put Terry down were funny, because it turns out Jimi thought Terry was a better player than he), songwriter, and vocalist. I’ve read articles where Pete Cetera said part of the reason he left Chicago was he missed Terry’s leadership, that the band didn’t know where it was going after Terry’s death and thrust Pete into the spotlight because he was the best looking (it was the start of the MTV era).

      Doing this exercise showed me how much I missed them, at least the them that they were before Terry’s death. Believe it or not, they buried him the day I got married…

      Like

      1. Now that you mention it, JOHN, I never did own that ‘Live At Carnegie Hall’ album. For some reason, I never saw it in record stores I frequented and didn’t even become aware of it until after I’d turned almost exclusively to Blues and Jazz. I guess I didn’t miss anything.

        I heard ‘JUST YOU AND ME’ played in a restaurant yesterday and it sounded so great. I love all their earlier stuffs but their later recordings, sans Kath, devolved into some form of drippy, overly sentimental, overly produced Pop love song crap.

        Today I own on CD the 2-disc retrospective set ‘THE VERY BEST OF CHICAGO: ONLY THE BEGINNING’. It contains most of their songs that I still dearly love, but I gotta admit that the second half of disc 2 really loses me. When it gets to ‘You’re The Inspiration’ it’s into the drippy period and I often don’t make it all the way through disc 2.

        ~ D-FensDogG

        Like

        1. Right in the middle of the sappy period, they did the original “Stone of Sisyphus” album, where they got back to a lot of the jazz-rock and got into some real avant-garde stuff. When they brought it to the record company (I think Warner Bros.) the suits said “What the F— is this s—? We can’t issue this!” and told them to get back into the studio and give them the ballads. Cetera, who sang a lot of the drippy stuff (he had the voice and the face for TV), finally said “I don’t need you guys to turn out this stuff, I can do it for myself” and quit. Then they fired Dan Seraphine for God knows what reason, and the band kind of devolved from there. Now it’s like an oldies band, playing the stuff from the Terry Kath period almost exclusively.

          From all I’ve read, Terry was the leader, and the wheels came off when he died. A shame, too, because they have a hell of a horn section…

          Like

          1. Oh, yeah, great horn section. They were doing something special for quite awhile by mixing horns with that electric guitar-drenched Psychedelic sound.

            I first heard them on radio, of course, and I really loved all those early hits. It was kind of a shock (but a pleasant one) to me when I first started buying the original albums and discovered how much had been edited out of those cuts to make them Top 40 friendly in terms of length. I’d be listening to some great radio hit I knew and then suddenly it would go into this long Psychedelic jam. They were a unique band.

            I may have to check out that “Stone of Sisyphus” album at Spotify.

            ~ D-FensDogG

            Like

Leave a Reply

