Five Songs With Seven In The Title

This post is scheduled for 7:16 AM Eastern Daylight Time, the time I officially start my seventh decade. I could have done birthday songs, sure, but liked this idea better.

  1. Seventh Son – Johnny Rivers: A song by the great blues songwriter Willie Dixon, given an upbeat performance by Johnny Rivers.
  2. Seven Come Eleven – Charlie Christian: Jazz guitarists owe Charlie a debt of thanks, because he was the player that first popularized the electric guitar as a jazz instrument. Charlie was an incredible talent who died way too young. Benny Goodman and Lionel Hampton join him on this classic.
  3. Seven Steps To Heaven – Stan Getz: Stan was known for his work in the early days of bossa nova, but here he does some straight-ahead jazz with Kenny Barron (piano), Alex Blake (bass), and the lovely Terri Lynne Carrington (drums).
  4. 007 (Shanty Town) – Desmond Dekker: Desmond is best known for his 1968 Top 40 hit “The Israelites.” He’s in fine voice here.
  5. Seven Drunken Nights – The Dubliners: I know, it’s a little late for St. Patrick’s Day. You’ll usually hear this in Irish pubs after the crowd has had a few pints of Guinness. Usually, after the singer gets to the line “So, I called to me wife and I said to her,” everyone in the crowd will shout, “HEY, WIFE!” It’s missing here, so you can supply it.

And that’s The Friday Five for March 25, 1956.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “Five Songs With Seven In The Title”

  1. Very Happy Birthday, John! Hope your day is spectacular! Love the seven’s! I saw Johnny Rivers in concert in Las Vegas when I was a teen. My first “concert.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

