The Easter Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Sunbeam Bread, Gene Autry’s brand!

I didn’t start seeing Sunbeam bread until I moved south. Huh…

twtw

 

Happy Easter, everyone! I hope that you have a good one, regardless of how you celebrate (or don’t).

On a personal note, thank you all for the birthday wishes this past Friday. It was another of those landmark birthdays, the ones that end with a zero. It was a good one, and the festivities have continued through the weekend and will probably last until next weekend.

I’ve been hard at work preparing my entries for the A to Z Challenge, which starts this Friday. Those of you who follow the blog noticed that I let one of my entries slip this past Friday, the one for the letter V, which should have been scheduled for April 26 but, in my haste to pack up to go home, I posted it immediately. I’m just happy I finished it first.

I’m glad everyone enjoyed my post from yesterday, which was in reply to the Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt, “real.” We could sit and discuss reality versus imagination for hours on end. I included several examples of where what we perceive as reality might to other beings be imagination. That’s the fun of writing fiction; you get to explore things like that. I’ve gotten out of the fiction-writing business, perhaps more than I should have. Maybe I’ll get back to it one day.

Monday was the A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal day, and I want to welcome all new followers to the blog. I’ve added your blogs to Feedly, my RSS reader of choice, and now you’ll never get rid of me HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Seriously, welcome, and no, I haven’t forgotten those of you who I met on earlier challenges. I’m currently following over 450 blogs on Feedly, including the blogs of anyone who’s commented here. I’m sure some of them are dormant or no longer exist, but I wouldn’t know where to begin to find the ones that are inactive. If anyone knows of anything, I’m all ears, kind of like H. Ross Perot or former Major League Baseball left-handed pitcher Don Mossi.

Chicago won the latest Battle of the Bands, defeating The Spencer Davis Group by a small margin in Battle “I’m A Man.”

I introduced many of you to fingerstyle guitarist Jamie Dupuis on Monday’s Music Moves Me. He’s active on YouTube and Instagram; I’ll have to look to see if he has a Facebook page and a Twitter account. Two for Tuesday featured Kraftwerk; I had only ever heard “Autobahn,” their hit from 1975, but Keith remembered them well and fondly. They were quite popular in Europe, where Debbie is from (she was happy to hear her original language again) and the UK, where Keith is from, but not here in the US. Go figure.

That’s all for this week. Remember, you have until April 4 to sign up for the A to Z Challenge, if you haven’t already done so, and it starts this Friday, April 1. See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

5 thoughts on “The Easter Week That Was”

  1. Hi John – happy birthday … all ages are worth celebrating – and I see you’ve been busy … I’m vaguely all set for the A-Z .. but will be fully participating … cheers Hilary

    Like

Leave a Reply

