THE FRIDAY FIVE: “A” Songs

I could have skipped this; heaven knows I have enough to do, between visiting blogs in my co-host capacity, the blogs of people I’ve followed since my first A to Z Challenge (this is my fifth), and the blogs of those of you who were kind enough to visit this morning. However, I made a promise to myself that I’d do the best I could to keep up with the normal schedule around here. So, here we go.

In keeping with the Challenge, I decided to choose five songs whose names started with “A.” To make it harder, I haven’t chosen any songs that start with the words “a” or “an.”

  1. Angela (Theme from “Taxi”) – Bob James: I don’t know if the song came before the TV show or vice versa, but it’s a beauty.
  2. Angie – The Rolling Stones: Written by Mick Jagger in the days he was hanging around a lot with David and Angie Bowie. Rumor is he had a romantic relationship with both.
  3. Albatross – Fleetwood Mac: Liz Brownlee, one of the bloggers I “met” during my first challenge, did her “A” entry about the albatross. She wrote a beautiful poem about the albatross, and I told her it reminded me of this song. It’s worth reading, so why not visit her?
  4. Abracadabra – The Steve Miller Band: There was a classic rock station in Atlanta (which now plays a lot of Nikki Minaj and boy bands) that would play this one about twice a day.
  5. After The Love Has Gone – Earth, Wind, and Fire: Had to include this one from my fellow Chicagoans, mostly because it’s just a great song.

And that’s your Friday Five for April Fools Day, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

41 thoughts on “THE FRIDAY FIVE: “A” Songs”

  1. Excellent BATTLE. What a great song. My favorite version is by Willie Nelson on his ‘Stardusr’ album, but alas ole Willie isn’t in the running. Both versions are great, but I like the instrumental by Johnny Smith w/ Stan Getz better. Give ’em my vote.

    Like

  2. Good playlist! Love The Rolling Stones’ Angie and Earth, Wind & Fire! I’m way impressed that you are doing an additional post on an already busy April 1st!!! You rock, John. You rock…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. Actually, this isn’t my theme… XD My theme is portmanteaus, and the first one is two below this one… I just chose this for one of my regular features. But thanks… it might appear as a theme next year or the year after…

      Like

  3. Leave it to me to immediately think of an oldie!
    Always liked “Always” – an Irving Berlin song.

    Note: For some reason I can never activate your playlists.

    Like

    1. Believe it or not, that’s not my theme… the actual AZ post is two posts down. Maybe I should’ve done music, or maybe I should start a second blog and do music there… Yes, I’m crazy enough to try…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re amazing to keep up with so many things, John! A to Z plus BOTB was hard enough for me. 🙂 I bet you’re extremely well-organized. My favourite of these is “Angie” by the Rolling Stones. Hope you get some rest this weekend.

    Like

  5. I had never heard of the song Albatross. Then this morning I saw it mentioned in a book about the Beatles and now you’ve mentioned it.

    Like

  6. Loved your Friday Five! Abracadabra and After the Love Has Gone are my favorites from your ‘A’ set. I also posted an ‘A’ set of five tunes with lyrics written by Jazz Age/Depression-Era songwriter Andy Razaf. Happy A to Z-ing!

    Like

  7. Albatross is a big favourite in our household. Shortly after I met my husband, some 45 or so years ago, he got the 45 he had ordered of his currently favourite song. We have both loved it ever since. I even introduced the music to our local radio station a year or two ago. Don’t think I know any of the other music you chose though.

    Like

  8. Your choices were fabulous! Especially the video of Angie and seeing the Rolling Stones so very young. I couldn’t believe Keith Richards. ~snicker~ Your other tunes were great pickins’ too! Have a great weekend my friend! Great start…. see you tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great idea. Will it always be music? I considered it, as I run The Monday Music Medicine Show on Mondays over at my blog Quantum Hermit. But since this is my first A to Z, I went with your basic free style, stream of consciousness. Music will likely be in some of my post, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

