Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs that start with “C” (#atozchallenge)

I’m going to piggyback the A to Z Challenge on this one, because I’m foolish enough to try…

C

Anyway, today is a “freebie” for MMMM, so here are five songs that start with the letter “C”.

C’est La Vie – Robbie Nevil: This song fairly screams out “EIGHTIES!” So does the video. I mean, during what other era could you imagine a video with a woman dancing in lingerie in an oil field?

Can’t Buy Me Love – The Beatles: Couldn’t find the actual video from A Hard Day’s Night, although there are scenes from it. It was a wonderful scene where they’re told not to wander off, and they decide to go out a fire exit and run around and play like a bunch of kids — which is what they were, anyway. Incidentally, the song is in the key of C.

Crazy On You – Heart: Their first hit in the US, reaching #35 on the Hot 100. This song is in A minor, the relative minor key of the key of C.

Cry Me A River – Julie London: The song finishes by 3:00, but the video goes on for another three minutes or so. Julie is accompanied by Barney Kessel on guitar and Ray Brown on bass.

Could It Be I’m Falling In Love – The Spinners: More great ’70’s soul, from 1973 (late December 1972, really), produced in Philadelphia by Thom Bell, with MFSB providing the backup. It doesn’t get much better than that!

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for April 4, 2016!

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

40 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs that start with “C” (#atozchallenge)”

  1. All of your songs got me in a good mood, especially Heart’s Crazy on You. They took me back to high school. Then I tried to decipher the foreign language of code and I was still back in high school, but my good mood was gone, LOL. I am a computer idiot. I can’t even figure out how to write my computer signature and the code has been given to us, for the challenge. I keep trying over on the A to Z blog and I get it one out of three times. Thanks for the music and the the lesson.

    http://melissasugarwrites.com
    I won’t even try my signature, and leave a string a letters here, LOL

    Like

    1. As far as the signature is concerned, don’t worry about it. Just put your URL at the bottom (what you did here) and WordPress will figure it out, and Blogger should. Most of the time people will try and click on your name anyway, and that’ll bring them somwehere they can find you.

      Try listening to the songs again. It might put you in a better mood. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Great list of songs. I’ve been listening to 70s music on Sirius XM Satellite radio during my brief drive to and from work. I did read your post about Codex and have uttered the same thoughts when I get cryptic messages. I think I’d rather read a novel than bone up via Wikipedia, however! Glenda from
    Evolving English Teacher

    Like

  3. I got a real kick out of listening to the Robbie Nevil song. I love 80s music. Lingerie in the oil fields and all…
    I also love Heart’s Crazy On You.
    These are all great actually!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I had forgotten that version and was really looking for the song from the 70’s, or as I like to call it “the era of depressing music.” Glad I found that one instead…

      Like

  4. I loved Heart, Beatles and the Spinners “C” songs. Great selection and I just chose 3 of this fine list, John.
    PS. I may be in your age bracket. I came over to tell you (from Beth’s blog), my two brothers had Danny O’ Day and took turns playing ventriloquist. πŸ™‚ My grandsons, ages 6 and 10, loved the Goosebumps movie with Jack Black playing R.L. Stine, author of the books; my own 3 grown kids read from age 9 to 11 or so. (3rd grade through 5th.) Last rambling thought, I stood in long line when my kids were at my exes house to get their Goosebumps books signed by the author. Smiles, Robin

    Like

  5. Great selection – especially the music video for “Cry me a River”. Good luck with the rest of the challenge.

    Like

        1. Or I have the wrong blog: is it themythmaster.wordpress.com? That’s the URL I get when I click your name, and I’m getting the message that it’s been deleted…

          Like

  6. Thanks for the tunes. I love anything to do with “A Hard Day’s Night”; that was my first Beatles album. πŸ™‚ We’ve been to several Heart concerts. Those sisters really rock!

    Like

Leave a Reply

