Two (plus Three) for Tuesday: Dixie Dregs #atozchallenge

One of the bands on my list of Progressive Rock bands is The Dixie Dregs, from right here in Atlanta. I had a hard time understanding it myself until I stopped and listened to them. You’ll hear music reminiscent of Emerson, Lake, and Palmer, Rush, Yes, and the Mahavishnu Orchestra (one of the Dregs’ members since 1992 is Jerry Goodman, who played with Mahavishnu in the 1970’s), mixed in with Southern rock, jazz fusion, classical, bluegrass, and hard rock. Guitarist Steve Morse and drummer Rod Morganstein have been with the Dregs since the beginning in the early 1970’s and the band has enjoyed relatively little turnover in their forty-plus years.

In keeping with my second theme (five songs having something to do with the letter of the day), I’ll be featuring five songs on Two for Tuesdays this month.

Cruise Control – The first track on 1981’s Unsung Heroes album

Kat Food – Live at the House of Blues (that’s all it said in the description), 2000.

Take It Off The Top – A medley of rock hits from the Tonight Show with Jay Leno, 1993

Odyssey – Another from the 2000 House of Blues concert.

I’m Freaking Out – From their 1980 release Dregs of the Earth

While no longer performing, the Dregs still get together for studio work and the occasional tour while maintaining their solo careers. Steve Morse has a website here and a Facebook page.

The Dixie Dregs, your Two (plus three) for Tuesday, April 5, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

18 thoughts on “Two (plus Three) for Tuesday: Dixie Dregs #atozchallenge”

    1. Had you heard of Steve Morse? I had because I used to read the guitar magazines, but I had never really heard anything he had done. They have quite a few albums out, including a few that nice people ripped and posted to YouTube. I’ve got them in my “watch later” list…

      Like

    1. Mine never survived. I have the vinyl somewhere in this house, probably in the garage where I can’t get at them. I don’t have a turntable anymore, so it’s kind of moot…

      Like

  1. I too have never heard of them, but I like them thank you.. Very Nice Post… but you know that, that’s why you posted it! Right!

    Welcome in the letter “D”… thank you!
    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2016]

    Stop over and find a free “SIX STRINGS: BLOGGING AtoZ CHALLENGE” Here: http://www.jmhdigital.com/

    HOLLYWOOD NUTS!
    You know you want to know if me or Hollywood… is Nuts?

    Like

    1. He’s still working quite a bit. For a while he worked with the trio of John McLaughlin, Al Di Meola, and Paco de Lucia. He’s also made a ton of instructional videos, a lot of which are on YouTube.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You are an encyclopedia of songs… I must say! Totally rockin’ post! Hey my friend I’ve been trying to find the link where all the letters are posted so I can copy the ones I need each day. You wouldn’t happen to know where that is do you? THANKS

    Like

  3. Fantastic stuff! I got introduced to the Dixie Dregs by a good friend just handed me a cassette that’s all it took. I’ve seen Steve solo and with Deep Purple. He stays busy. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

