Five by Elvis #atozchallenge

E

It’s E day, and what better way to celebrate than with five by the King of Rock ‘n’ Roll, Elvis Presley?

I tried to pick five songs from different points in his career, and to pick songs that we don’t hear too often. This meant leaving off some of your favorites as well as mine, but I think you’ll like what you hear.

Steamroller Blues: From 1973, this is from his Aloha from Hawai’i TV special. It reached #17 on the Hot 100, #10 on the Cash Box survey, and #16 on the Record World survey. James Taylor wrote this for his Sweet Baby James album, intending it as a joke.

If I Can Dream: Written in 1968 by Walter Earl Brown after the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The song has a number of quotes from Dr. King. Elvis recorded this as a tribute to him. It got to #12 on the Hot 100 and #9 on both the Cash Box and Record World surveys.

Suspicious Minds: Released in 1969, it reached #1 on all three surveys, and was Elvis’s last #1.

I Want You, I Need You, I Love You: This was his second #1 hit, and gets overshadowed by its predecessor, “Heartbreak Hote,” and its successor, “Hound Dog.”

Crying In The Chapel: Recorded for his 1960 gospel album His Hand In Mine, but not released until Easter 1965. It hit #3 on the Hot 100 and topped the Easy Listening chart for seven weeks, his biggest hit in six years.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little noontime concert. What are some of your favorite Elvis Presley songs?

ETA: Thanks to Maryann Holloway for pointing out I had the same song twice. Go visit her blog. It’s a good one.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

26 thoughts on “Five by Elvis #atozchallenge”

    1. Oops! Thanks for letting me know. 

      #yiv3698168851 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3698168851 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3698168851 a.yiv3698168851primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3698168851 a.yiv3698168851primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3698168851 a.yiv3698168851primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3698168851 a.yiv3698168851primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3698168851 WordPress.com | | |

      Like

  1. Reblogged this on Annette's place and commented:

    Today is the letter E in the A to Z challenge and I am reblogging this for your enjoyment. I am a lover of Elvis and I wanted to share my friend John’s beautiful choices of his songs.

    Like

  2. Fun list. I knew 2 of them: I Want You, I Need You + Suspicious Minds. Didn’t know that Elvis sang one of Sweet Baby James’s songs. Seems odd, but why not?

    Like

    1. It was a pretty big hit for Elvis. Guess the joke’s on James Taylor. XD

      #yiv7714364853 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7714364853 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7714364853 a.yiv7714364853primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7714364853 a.yiv7714364853primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7714364853 a.yiv7714364853primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7714364853 a.yiv7714364853primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7714364853 WordPress.com | | |

      Like

      1. He also recorded a Gordon LIghtfoot song, to the delight of Mr. Lightfoot (who never fails to mention, in concert, that Elvis recorded Early Morning Rain. As a Lightfoot fan, it’s not one of my favorite version of the song.

        Like

  3. Elvis had so many great songs. Your post reminds me of a visit to the Elvis Museum in Las Vegas a few years back. Of course there was an Elvis concert with an impersonator. I happened to be in the front row center and he captured me with his scarf, drew me in, and left me exhilarated!
    Mary
    #AtoZChallenge E is for Elle

    Like

    1. It’s a false dichotomy. Both were incredible talents. I’m sure there are Beatles fans who hated Elvis and vice versa, but probably the vast majority of people were fans of both.

      Like

  4. I know a couple of people that would go crazy over these tunes. My cousin is one of them and another dear friend of mine. They go crazy when they hear his name. Me personally I love music period. He’s got some great tunes, but me… nope I do not swoon over these singers. I like to dance instead. hehehe Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. The larger-than-life “Elvis the Celebrity” overshadowed his tremendous talent as a singer. I thought the way he shifted gears and took his music in a different direction during the British Invasion and psychedelic eras was remarkable.

      Like

  5. Hi John – they all take us back .. and when I hear them played they just have that Elvis’ resonance … Love Me Tender, Blue Suede Shoes … and the others mentioned … cheers Hilary

    Like

    1. He had the kind of voice that sounded good doing just about everything. Rock, R&B, country, gospel, and could even compete with the crooners like Sinatra. He was larger than life, and I don’t think people knew how good he was.

      Like

  6. There’s a great remix of Suspicious Minds that came out in the…’90s, I think? Elvis would have approved.

    I like “Mama liked the Roses.” Makes me cry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

