#atozchallenge: Ginormous

ginormous =
gigantic + enormous

 

“Ginormous” means really, really big. Kind of like “humongous,” which is supposedly a portmanteau of “huge” and “enormous,” but I couldn’t work it out. Merriam-Webster, considered the dictionary of American English, uses “humongous” as the definition of “ginormous.” I looked to see if the reverse was also true, but it wasn’t.

I think it’s an age-related thing whether you use “ginormous” or “humongous.” Which do you prefer?

G
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

17 thoughts on “#atozchallenge: Ginormous”

  1. I cant even begin to tell you how happy it makes me to know that ginormous is a real word! Of Ginormous and Humongous, ginormous gets more frequent use here.

    Like

  2. To me, humongous connotes stupefying mass, and ginormous connotes stunning height. But with the OED’s roll-over-and-assume-the-position acceptance that “literally” and “figuratively” are virtually the same, what matters subtlety in the vocabulary of the English-speaking masses?

    Like

Leave a Reply

