The Week That Was, April 10, 2016

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Tang. Wake up to Tang!

Remember when they advertised Tang as what the astronauts drank? I haven’t seen Tang in years, but I remember how it tastes. Now that I’m older, I take fiber every night, and I notice it tastes like Tang. That’s what they did with it! …

Man, I get busy when the A to Z Challenge is in town. Dixie asked me on Friday for the results of my most recent Battle of the Bands, Battle “Moonlight In Vermont” between The Johnny Smith Quintet and Jo Stafford. I said I would do it Friday, got busy and never posted it. Sorry about that! Here are the results:

The Johnny Smith Quintet: 7
Jo Stafford: 9

Usually, vocal versions of songs do better than instrumentals, so the result doesn’t surprise me. That there were only two points separating them does. Anyway, congratulations to Jo Stafford and a pat on the back to The Johnny Smith Quintet.

I apologize that I didn’t get around to everyone’s Battle this time around. I’ll do better this Friday.

Thanks to all of you who stopped by and said “Howdy!” for one of my two A to Z themes. I’m doing my best to return the favor, but know that I appreciate the traffic and it’s good to meet so many of you.

This will be short, so I can catch up on my blog reading and write entries for the coming week. See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

7 thoughts on “The Week That Was, April 10, 2016”

  1. Now that I’m back from a week long trip I’ll be playing catch up to the A to Z. I think I managed to make all of the Battle of the Bands posts, but not too much else. Doing internet stuff can be difficult when traveling and visiting with family.

    It was a close Battle this round, but my gal won. The instrumental was fine, but I’ve always liked the lyrics of “Moonlight in Vermont”. It’s one of those songs that I catch myself singing the first few verses now and then, but then I stop because I don’t know the whole song.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Boy, I loved Tang! Surprisingly, it’s still available today in some stores and on Amazon. I’d be willing to bet it doesn’t taste the same, though.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed your humor about what happened with Tang. My kids drank it some when growing up. We took some on a trip one time and they drank it because they didn’t like the relative’s iced tea. She commented that they must really like Tang. We never told her the real reason of course.

    Like

Leave a Reply

