#atozchallenge: Knitch

knitch =
knitting + glitch

 

Mary wanted to know what my theme for this year’s Challenge was, and when I told her she made a couple of suggestions, including this one. It is knitting related, because that’s what Mary does a lot of, as we discussed a couple of months ago.

Anyway, a knitch is a mistake you make while knitting. Dropped stitch, knitting when you should have purled and vice versa, etc. When that happens you either have to tink (knit spelled backwards), which is to un-knit, or frog, where you “rip it, rip it, rip it.”

I watch Mary knit, and I’m amazed. Seriously. She also crochets, which is similar to knitting except, instead of needles, you use a hook. (Crochet is the French word for “hook,” if I remember correctly.) Do any of you knit, crochet, or do some other form of needlework (quilting, needlepoint, embroidery, crewel, etc.)?

K
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

13 thoughts on “#atozchallenge: Knitch”

  1. John,
    I recently posted about frogging. I didn’t know that as a knitting term until recently. And now I know another knitting term, thanks to you. Such fun. Do you ever post photos of your wife’s knitting projects? Readers would enjoy that. Maybe you could add posts called “Words from Mary” or something similar. I know she likes you to tell your stories. Maybe you can tell some of hers. What do yuo think?

    Like

  2. I confess. I make knitches fairly often when kinitting a Prayer Shawl for my church. However, my approach is just to knit onward and count on the nubby yarn to hide all knitches. Who’d think K3, P3 would be so hard to keep straight.

    Like

  3. My sisters all knit and/or crochet. About the only thing like this that I attempted to do was cross-stitch a car pattern. It’s kind of like colouring, but with coloured thread.

    Like

  4. I’m a crocheter. Never could get the hang of knitting. However, I have done the frog with my crocheting as well, sometimes many times on the same project! Thanks for the “K!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

