#atozchallenge: Linner or Lupper

linner=
lunch + dinner
lupper=
lunch + supper

 

Just as brunch is a meal between breakfast and lunch that takes the place of both, linner or lupper comes between lunch and dinner (or supper) and takes the place of both.

Mary and I have done this for some time, wait until three or four in the afternoon and have a meal that counts for both. Some diet experts say this is a good way to lose weight. I’m not sure (certainly hasn’t worked for me), but it seems logical to me. Of course, we’re at the point in our lives when restaurants encourage people of a certain age to have dinner early, maybe thinking that’s when we want to eat, maybe thinking we go to bed after Jeopardy! (8:00 PM) and are thus in a mood to eat early. I think if we were to fall asleep after Jeopardy!, we’d be up again at 1 AM and be up watching infomercials. Grandma Holton and her sister Florence would nap on and off all day, then be up in the middle of the night. I remember I was staying with them once, and I woke up at about 2 AM and heard voices in the living room. I looked out of my room, and they were praying a novena.

What time do you eat?

L
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

16 thoughts on “#atozchallenge: Linner or Lupper”

  1. Hi John – usually neither of those times … unless the gardening takes over (not to say I do that now) and we have a late lunch after a reasonably slow start to the morning .. I usually eat at 1.00 ish and then again any time from 7 – 9 … no set times … it’s when it suits … cheers Hilary

    Like

  2. I always call that meal Lunner. As for meal time, I always prepare something once I get home from work. 5:30 or 6:00. Problem with eating early, is then I’m hungry right before bed.

    Like

  3. I do brunch all the time since I start working before eating breakfast and before I know it, it’s 11 AM. Sadly, when I eat a late lunch, I don’t really call it linner because I usually end up eating dinner later (like 8). I don’t watch Jeopardy but I do stay up late and craft 🙂

    Like

    1. I have trouble getting moving in the morning, so we generally don’t have breakfast until late, and more often than not it becomes lunch. I’ve noticed dinner comes earlier and earlier for us. By the time Jeopardy! rolls around, we’ve usually had dinner.

      Like

  4. This was an ongoing discussion in my family. Is it linner? Or is it lupper? Never resolved, but valid points were raised for using either word. However, when it came to brunch everyone agreed on what to call it.

    Like

  5. I’ve not heard either of these terms before. I like to eat between 5 and 6. I hate eating later than 8. I’m starting to experience acid reflux more and more and the later you eat, the worse that gets.

    Like

  6. On the weekedays, my breakfast is a cup of coffee at 730am, then lunch at 1230pm and finally, dinner at 8 or 9 pm. On the weekends, I eat whenever my stomach growls LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

