#atozchallenge: Muppets

Muppet =
marionette + puppet

 

I don’t know of too many people who haven’t heard or seen The Muppets. Created by the late Jim Henson in 1955, they appeared first in commercials, such as these commercials for Wilkins Coffee.

At the same time, in Chicago, they advertised Kraml Milk. The commercials were almost exactly the same.

They became especially popular with the 1969 debut of Sesame Street, a show that combined education with entertainment (and lots of government funding) and aimed primarily at preschoolers and early graders. In 1976, The Muppet Show debuted in syndication, which featured a celebrity guest who would interact with the characters (one particularly funny episode featured ventriloquist Edgar Bergen with his famous dummies, Charlie McCarthy and Mortimer Snerd). The Muppets would also perform routines by themselves, such as their infamous performance of “Chanson d’Amour.”

I guess it’s not as amusing as it was originally, although I still get a laugh out of it.

Sice Jim Henson’s death in 1990, the Muppets have been taken over by the Disney Corporation, who now also own the “Star Wars” franchise. Saints preserve us.

What’s your favorite Muppets sketch?

M
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

21 thoughts on “#atozchallenge: Muppets”

  1. I didn’t know that the M in Muppet was for Marionette! That totally makes sense now! Lol.
    I love the muppets. I like to see the Muppet band Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem jam. That always cracks me up…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. This was an awesome post. Wow, those Wilkins commercials. Can you imagine if any of those aired now? Heads would roll. Especially if they were not drinking Wilkins coffee. GREAT FIND!
    Favourite muppet skit? Not sure I have an exact favourite but I LOVE the heckling critiques..
    “Why do we always come here?”
    “I guess we’ll never know”
    “It’s kind of like a torture, to have to watch the show.”

    Correct me if I’m wrong, but had a neck ring around that dude and he’s Kermit the frog.

    Like

  3. I loooove the muppets 🙂
    Beaker, Swedish Chef, Kermit, Gonzo…gosh, I don’t know that I have a fave. I loved that show as a kid and it has never grown old to me.

    Like

  4. Hi John – I’ve seen the Muppets occasionally … but again no kids … I watched when they appeared .. and they were so good.

    We had the film “Being Elmo” as part of our film society this year … which is the story of Kevin Clash (the puppeteer) who was working for the late Jim Henson … who was a boy from a poor black family in Baltimore … who very early on knew what he wanted out of life … working with Jim Henson – he achieved that. The film was wonderful and I’d no idea … just a wonderful story …

    Who can’t resist the Muppets when they come on – I too didn’t realise they’d started out in commercials …

    Cheers and have a good weekend – Hilary

    Like

  5. I didn’t realize “M” stood for marionettes, but that seems logical. 🙂 I wasn’t a regular viewer (no kids here either), but always enjoyed Miss Piggy and Kermit whenever they appeared.

    Like

    1. Henson said that was how he came up with the name, then backed off it, for some reason.

      The Muppets were on after the 6:00 news on Saturday, and we watched it every week.

      Like

  6. Oh….I love the muppets and had to watch the whole coffee thing. Is that Wilkin.’s coffee even around any more?? I know Jim Henson started back then as I saw an old skit that was so funny involving Kermit eating something. I wish I could remember more. You know, my dad was a lumberman all his life, he was rugged, tall, a man of respect. Well, this man’s favourite show was the Muppet Show. He was already in his late 60’s when it came on but he laughed and laughed. He loved the 2 old coots in the balcony.

    Like

  7. John, I didn’t realize The Muppets went back to the mid-50s. The first time I saw them was on Sesame Street. That was a good program for kids. My favorite skits normally were of the two old men, Cookie Monster, or Animal. After DH & I got married we saw a few of The Muppet movies. You just never out grow somethings. I mean everyone loves a good love story, right? The Muppets have Kermit and Miss Piggy’s on-going love affair. I wonder, if they’ll ever get married? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

