Two (+3) for Tuesday: The Alan Parsons Project #atozchallenge

P

ProgRock

Kind of like Steely Dan, which is Donald Fagen and Walter Becker accompanied by session musicians, The Alan Parsons Project was Alan Parsons (keyboards, acoustic guitar, vocals, and a host of other instruments) and Eric Woolfson (keyboards, vocals, and composition) accompanied by session players, which usually included Ian Bairnson (guitar), David Paton (bass and vocals), and Lenny Zakatek (drums). They were active from 1975 through 1990. Parsons had been assistant engineer for The Beatles’ Abbey Road and Let It Be albums and had just engineered The Dark Side of The Moon for Pink Floyd when he met Woolfson, a session pianist, at Abbey Road Studios in 1974. They produced ten studio albums (an eleventh, The Sicilian Defence, wasn’t released until 2014, as part of a box set).

I was surprised that I recognized so much of their music. I think I mentioned before that radio stations weren’t always good at mentioning the song and artist during the Seventies and Eighties, especially when the song was tucked into a long set. Did you find that to be true?

Games People Play – From the band’s 1980 album The Turn of a Friendly Card, this reached #9 on the Canadian chart and #16 on the US chart that year.

Sirius/Eye in the Sky – The title track from their 1982 album, this reached #1 in Canada and #3 in the US that year.

Old and Wise – Also from Eye In The Sky, this reached #21 on the US Adult Contemporary chart.

Time – Again from The Turn of a Friendly Card, this reached #30 in Canada and #15 in the US in 1981.

I Wouldn’t Want To Be Like You – From their 1977 album I Robot, this rose to #22 in Canada and #36 in the US that year. Look, an old Univac computer!

The Project has a website and a Facebook page, and Woolfson has his own website to showcase his POE: More Tales of Mystery and Magic album.

The Alan Parsons Project, your Two (plus three) For Tuesday (and “P” entry of the A to Z Challenge), April 19, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

8 thoughts on “Two (+3) for Tuesday: The Alan Parsons Project #atozchallenge”

  1. “Sirius” also reminds me of going to a sporting event in the 1990s. It became popular to play before games after the Chicago Bulls used it as their intro music.

    Like

  2. I’ve liked all of Alan Parsons’ albums. “Eye in the Sky” is one of my favorite songs of all times. I find it amusing that Donald Trump’s campaign rallies (at least the ones I’ve seen) use the song “Sirius” in the music they play. They always cut it off when it comes to where “Eye in the Sky” begins which is probably a wise choice. Really, who wants a presidential candidate touting an “eye in the sky” watching us philosophy? Kind of scary.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. I agree that the radio stations were not very good about giving the names of songs or artists. Maybe that’s why apps like Spotify were thought of. I am always hearing songs that I like but have to look up who sings them or what the titles are. I have a problem with radio, as my letter R will show 🙂 Thanks for reminding me of these goodies.

    Like

  4. Alan Parsons Project… I have their discography because I needed to get the Raven by them (among others).

    Like Manfred Mann’s Earth Band… a lot of their lesser known stuff is where things get fascinating. It seems to be a trend actually, as if the marketing directors of these bands were trying to deny the real talent of these musicians in favor of a “universal sound”.

    I used to dislike BTO (Bachman Turner Overdrive, because I wasn’t much into their marketed sound. Then I heard Blue Collar by them. Loved it.

    Journey… they were fun, but I didn’t take them too seriously until I heard their soundtrack Dream After Dream.

    My favorite song despite being a teenage girl of the 80s who just HAD to have the original a-ha LP Hunting High and Low has remained the last song on the album “Here I Stand and Face the Rain”…

    Radio used to be a teaser. That’s why it was (yes) so frustrating to have DJs forget to let us know who they played.

    Like

  5. I really enjoyed the Alan Parsons Project back in the day (especially I-Robot). I recognized all these songs except Old & Wise. Great memories in these songs… I’m going to have to buy some APP this week. 🙂

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

Leave a Reply

