Five “Queen” Songs #atozchallenge

Q

Happy birthday to Mary, the Queen of my Heart! This is her favorite…

In honor of her birthday, and because it’s Q day in the A to Z Challenge, I present five songs with “Queen” in the title.

Queen of the House – Jody Miller: A parody of Roger Miller’s “King of the Road,” it was written by Mary Taylor. Jody (no relation to Roger) released this in 1965 and it rose to #12 on the Pop chart and #5 on the Country chart. Connie Francis covered it in 1966 on her Live At The Sahara album, and The Supremes covered it on their 1965 album The Supremes At The Copa.

Killer Queen – Queen: Queen’s first international hit as well as their first US hit, it reached #12 on both the Billboard Hot 100 and the Cash Box Top 100, and #1 at WLS (The Big 89) in Chicago, in 1974-75.

Little Queenie – Chuck Berry: Released in 1959, it only reached #80 on the Hot 100.

Little Queen – Heart: Response to the last time I posted Heart in one of these music countdowns was overwhelming, so I decided to do it again. Title track from their 1977 album, it was released as a single after “Barracuda,” which outshone everything else that year, and only reached #62 in the US and #58 in Canada.

Queen of Hearts – Juice Newton: The lovely Ms. Newton recorded this for her 1981 album Juice, and it was a breakthrough hit for her, reaching #2 for two weeks in 1981 (behind Diana Ross’ and Lionel Richie’s “Endless Love”) and being certified Gold in the US. It was also an international hit, charting in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, South Africa, and Switzerland, with limited success in Austria, The Netherlands, and Germany.

Happy birthday again to my beloved one. Did I include your favorite song with “queen” in the title? If not, let me know what it is…

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

19 thoughts on “Five “Queen” Songs #atozchallenge”

  1. I think Queen of Hearts might be my favorite. I can think of others for the top 5, but none that would defeat Juice’s classic.

    Like

  2. I think the only one of these I’ve heard is the one by Juice Newton. Always liked that one. Here’s one I have to hear all the time, because my husband just loves it haha… it’s sung by Sammy Kershaw, a country song called “Queen of my Double Wide Trailer” 😉

    Like

  3. LOVE Little Queen. I like just about anything by Heart. The Wilson Sisters rock!!

    Michele @ Angels Bark

    Like

  4. Hi John – loved the one for Mary … clever and fun to see …

    It’s also our Queen’s 90th birthday today – so another good day to listen to more Queen songs … cheers Hilary

    Like

Leave a Reply

