#atozchallenge: Underwhelmed

underwhelmed =
under + overwhelmed

 

grumpy cat
The lovely Miss Tarder Sauce, also known as Grumpy Cat

The first time I heard the word “underwhelmed,” it was from a friend of mine who had a less-than-impressive quest for his bachelor’s degree. Where it took most of us four years or less to earn the BA, or BS, or in my case BBA, it took him six years and four transfers before he got his degree. (Nowadays, that’s the norm; forty years ago, people asked what the hell was the matter with you.) He got a note from the public relations office of his eventual alma mater, telling him they were going to contact his high school to let them know he graduated, and asking for the name of a contact person. He called them and begged them not to do that, saying “Six years and four schools before I get my degree? They’ll really be underwhelmed.”

Underwhelmed, according to The Free Dictionary, means “not impressed or excited.” But you probably figured that out. I find that TV shows and movies are most likely to underwhelm me. Mary and I have figured out that the more a movie or TV show is hyped, the worse it’ll be when we actually see it.

What was the last thing that underwhelmed you? Besides the choices we have for President of the United States, I mean?

U
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

17 thoughts on “#atozchallenge: Underwhelmed”

  1. I’m always underwhelmed by politicians. I don’t know that I’ve ever used the word underwhelmed before this but will be adding it to my vocabulary. There is much to be underwhelmed about these days!

    Cute cat — though she does look a bit grumpy for sure…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. Your politicians are underwhelming except for one and he is so overwhelming that it is frightening. I saw a comment on Facebook saying “You (in the US) believe you are having an election, the rest of the world look on this as an intelligence test and so far, you are not doing very well”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In the forty-plus years I’ve been allowed to vote, I’ve come to the conclusion that anyone who wants to be President probably shouldn’t be allowed to be. Never has that been truer than this year. Honestly, we need the ability to say “none of the above.”

      Like

  3. This past weekend a friend was telling me about a restaurant she really liked. We went with a small group, but I was underwhelmed with it. The food was cold and tasteless and I saw fruit flies as our food was being brought out.

    Like

  4. I’ve been really underwhelmed by some of my regular tv shows lately. I feel like they’ve gotten a bit lazy with their schedules…start in October/November…take a two month winter break…back for another two months before it’s the season ending. Blah!
    A to Z hopping!
    ~Katie
    TheCyborgMom

    Like

Leave a Reply

