#atozchallenge: Zillionaire

zillionaire =
zillion + millionaire

 

Remember when having a million dollars was a big thing?

Now, a million dollars is nothing. $1,000,000 today was worth $136,644.86 fifty years ago. You’d need $7,318,240.74 in 2016 dollars to equal what you had if you had $1,000,000 in 1966. (Numbers courtesy the US Inflation Calculator.)

(Yes, I know, not everyone lives in the United States. This is just an example.)

We used to look at millionaires as beig ultra-wealthy. Those who had more than a million were multimillionaires. Now, we’re talking about billionaires. I mean, Bill Gates has $75 billion dollars. He’s the richest man in the world. One day we’re going to be talking about trillionaires, and quadrillionaires….

But that’s not important for our purposes. When someone is very, very wealthy, and you don’t know how much money they have, you make up a number. Like a zillion. It’s not an actual number that you can express in 10x format, but everyone understands it’s a lot. In other words, a zillionaire is someone with a zillion dollars.

What did you call your big numbers when you were younger?

Z

And that’s it! My last entry in this year’s Blogging from A to Z April Challenge! Thanks for reading and commenting. What did you think of this theme?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

15 thoughts on “#atozchallenge: Zillionaire”

  1. I wish I could say I were a zillionaire and it be true.

    Congratulations on making it through to the end. You had a unique theme–stuff I hadn’t really thought of before

    Thanks for being a tremendous part of making this year’s A to Z Challenge work so well. Hope you’ll stay with the Team.

    See you at the next BOTB post.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Hi John – good finish .. well done .. and a great word – one we use without full understanding – how can we – with only pennies in our pocket! Cheers Hilary

    Like

  3. I so dream of being a zillionaire!!! I’ll need to marry into it though, I’m afraid…
    I’ve enjoyed your portmanteaus this month! Learned some great new words (in fact I used Underwhelmed the other day…). Thanks for that!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  4. In my day (late 50’s/early 60’s) a millionaire was an ultra rich person. And there was the TV show The Millionaire, which my parents watched. Congrats on completing the Challenge (and blogging extra in addition – you who do more than one blog or more than one post a day amaze me!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

