Z is for… #atozchallenge

Z

Zeibekiko: “To Zeibekiko Tis Evodokias,” with Manolis Karandinis playing the bouzouki and some unidentified dancer putting on the show. That’s not paper on the floor, it’s pieces of broken plates. Back when I did the letter G I mentioned that zeibekiko was a free-form dance done by men, although there were a number of videos I found that were saying that women (and quite attractive women at that) were doing it. Turns out, they’re doing the feminine version of the dance, the tsifteteli, which is more like a belly dance. Maybe the ladies in the videos were doing the zeibekiko after all. Whatever…

Zither: Anton Karas playing the theme from “The Third Man.” Along with Orson Welles and Joseph Cotten, the music is a star of the movie.

Zydeco: Wikipedia tells me that zydeco music is a combination of blues, rhythm & blues, and music indigenous to the Louisina Creoles. I had to look it up, because I didn’t know the formal definition of it. I did know it by the sound, and that’s what’s important. Chief instruments in zydeco are the accordion (button or piano) and the rub-board, a wearable washboard you play with two old-fashioned bottle openers. Don’t know what this song is, but watch this couple cut a rug…

Zappa: As in Frank Zappa, the late musician and philosopher, who once said that most people wouldn’t know good music if it bit them in the ass. Read kind of a sad story today that the family is feuding over the estate now that Frank’s wife Gail has died, preventing son Dweezil from calling his current tour “Zappa Plays Zappa.” All I can figure is, if Frank knew they were fighting over the estate, he wouldn’t have left one. “Peaches en Regalia,” from Frank’s 1969 Hot Rats album, has become something of a jazz standard in the forty-plus years since it was released.

ZZ Top: This Houston-based power trio has been around since 1969, fer cryin’ out loud. Billy Gibbons (guitar, vocals), Dusty Hill (bass), and Frank Beard (drums, ironically the only member who doesn’t have a beard) do some of the best straight-ahead blues-rock at high volume I’ve heard. This is a live version of “La Grange,” their first hit and the first song by them I heard many years ago.

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

And that, my friends, caps off the A to Z Challenge for both my themes (portmanteaus finished six hours ago) for 2016. Thanks to all of you who visited me for the first time during the Challenge, those who subscribed to the blog, and those who left comments. Thanks also to my minions and to the other co-hosts of the A to Z Challenge for making this a fun time for all, myself included. It’s now 1:30 Eastern Daylight Time where I am, leaving me a good day and a half to answer your comments and reciprocate your visits before I have to put on my writin’ hat again.

Keep an eye on this space May 9 for the announcement about the A to Z Reflections posts, where you get to tell the world how wonderful the A to Z Challenge is and to tell us what we’ve screwed up we can do to make the 2017 A to Z Challenge better and more enjoyable. There’ll also be a questionnaire with more questions than the SAT where you can provide us with feedback on what you liked, what you didn’t like, and what changes you’d make to the Challenge for next year.

That’s all from me. Straight ahead!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

23 thoughts on “Z is for… #atozchallenge”

    1. Yes, I’m one of the co-hosts for A to Z, so they pretend to listen… XD

      It’s a little disheartening that we ended up taking so many blogs off the list (almost 700 this year), but life happens and doesn’t take April off for A to Z. We had close to 1500 that did get thru the alphabet, though. That’s the point. Hope you join us again next year!

      Like

  1. Great finish! The Zydeco dancers make me tired just looking at them! My knees would never hold up to that! Thanks for the ZZ Top video, I didn’t include one on mine. I’ve really enjoyed reading all your posts. Thanks also for your encouragement and support throughout the challenge! I had a ton of fun and am already planning for next year!

    Like

  2. APPLAUSE APPLAUSE Your A to Z has been exceptional!!!! To finish up with ZZ-Top WOW what more can you ask for. The Zydeco dancers were awesome. I haven’t seen a zither before either! Great job my friend! Totally awesome!!! See you on Monday! hugs

    Like

  3. Congratulations on completing the A/Z! I’ve enjoyed reading your posts, and appreciate your visits to my place. šŸ™‚ Wishing you well going forward in your writing adventure, John!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I enjoyed yours as well; sorry I didn’t get around like I wanted to. The list will be around for a while, so I plan to do my visiting in the coming months (we used to call it the “road trip”).

      Like

  4. I did not know Zappa put out instrumentals. I thought he was more like Warren Zevon (another Z) with the offbeat humor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

