BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Guitar/Jeff’s Boogie”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

After a brief hiatus due to A to Z, I’m back with another Battle. This time, a battle between two of the great guitar players, Chuck Berry and Jeff Beck.

I heard “Jeff’s Boogie” by The Yardbirds back when Jeff Beck was punishing the strings. And you know me and instrumental guitar music: I went crazy over it.

A few years later, I was at a friend’s house and he put on a Chuck Berry album, and here’s what came out of the speakers.

My reaction was “Hey, Chuck is covering ‘Jeff’s Boogie’!”

My friend gave me that look that tells me I have three heads and says, “No, that’s ‘Guitar Boogie.’ Beck must have been covering it and called it ‘Jeff’s Boogie.'”

I shrugged and said, “Sounds like ‘Jeff’s Boogie.'” And we went on to something else.

I like both versions of this tune: Jeff Beck has always been one of my favorite guitar players, and he sounds crystal clear on this tune. And listening to Chuck’s version makes me think of him being in the studio on South Michigan Avenue in Chicago with Willie Dixon on bass, Lafayette Leake on piano, and Willie “Big Eyes” Smith on the drums, and someone at Chess leaving the tape running while the four of them warm up.

So, let’s hear from you, now: which version do you prefer? Jeff Beck’s, with The Yardbirds, or Chuck Berry’s? Let me know in the comments and tell me a little about hy you like that one better.

And, as always, when you’ve finished that, go visit the others who might or might not be holding Battles today:

Tossing It Out
Far Away Series *
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands *
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
ReInVintaged
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Janie Junebug Righting and Editing
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

* Check these blogs for further updates to this list!

I’ll announce the winner as part of “The Week That Was” next Sunday, May 8, 2016, so get your vote to me by Saturday the 7th.

Best of luck to Jeff and Chuck! The lines are open now!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

14 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Guitar/Jeff’s Boogie””

  1. This is really a tough one John! Both are really good, But I’m going to give my vote to Chuck Berry. I just liked his version better.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. I like that you found Chuck Berry doing the same song since you had heard the Yardbirds before. I am going with the YardBirds because I find their interpretation more appealing. I have looked…just a little at your A to Z and plan to look more when I get a chance. I saw that you picked the zither for one example and I love that instrument. I showcased The Third Man for my letter T and actually put the song in as well since I love it!

    Like

  3. I’ve never been a fan of “Boogie’s”– just always seemed like a way for a band or artist to display virtuosity as filler music. Not something to showcase, but something to blow-off a set before taking a break. These are not bad, but not something I’d just sit around listening to.

    For my taste I’m going with the more interesting variations presented by Jeff Beck. I like the snippets he throws in such as “What’s It All About Alfie”. It’s some clever playing, but novelty none the less.

    Interesting pairing.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  4. A pretty tough one to vote on. I had to listen to both recordings twice before deciding on CHUCK BERRY.

    Beck’s playing may be a bit more varied, but I liked the backing band better with Chuck. Plus, I’m a sucker for that early, distinctive, pioneering Rock ‘N’ Roll sound that the legend Chuck Berry possessed.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘loyal American Underground’

    Like

  5. Funny how you can go so long thinking one thing (a song is an original) only to find out another thing (it’s a cover). Happens to me a lot these days… now that I’m paying attention!

    Give my vote to Chuck Berry.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. John, both guitar boogie tracks are good. Jeff’s Boogie is cleaner and less distracting. Guitar Boogie set my toes to tapping to the noisier guitar sound. My ears liked the first cut best, so I’m giving my to the Yardbirds. Cool battle!

    Like

  7. As a big Jeff Beck fan I thought for sure he was going to get my vote. But, when I heard Chuck Berry play I thought sounds like Chuck Berry. When Jeff Beck plays something it sounds like Jeff Beck. So in this case Chuck gets my vote.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. John, I love the old rock ‘n roll… and Chuck Berry gets my vote this time. I felt like getting up to dance! Such a rich sound.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hey John, great BATTLE. I really enjoyed listening to both versions, but I’m going to go with the more relaxed sound of Chuck Berry. I always though that he sounds as though it’s so easy to play like that. Ha! I guess maybe for him it was.

    Like

  10. If it’s not too late already, I’d like to vote for Jeff Beck! Both men are amazing guitarists and both have similarly composed and enjoyable “boogie”s, but in my opinion Chuck’s, while sounding exactly as you’d expect a Chuck Berry tune to sound, was just missing a little something. Jeff’s bluesy one seemed to speak to me a bit more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

