#1LinerWeds from Sydney J. Harris

The time to relax is when you don’t have time for it.
– Sydney J. Harris

 

Beth (ksbeth) at I Didn’t Have My Glasses On… posted this quote today. Sydney J. Harris, whose column appeared in the Chicago Sun-Times (and, before then, the Chicago Daily News) for years, is one of my favorite columnists, as I’ve mentioned here before, and some of his best columns were nothing more than collections of aphorisms like the one above. He passed away in 1986, and since then his books (mostly collections of his columns) have gone out of print, but check your library or used bookstores for them. You’ll be glad you did.


1linerwedsbadgewes

One-Line Wednesday is hosted by Linda Hill. She has the rules and pingbacks from the others here.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

7 thoughts on “#1LinerWeds from Sydney J. Harris”

    1. When you think about it, it makes sense. I’d get so overwhelmed that I knew I’d have to get out of the office, take a walk, have a cigarette and a cup of coffee (I don’t smoke anymore) and just stop thinking about everything for a while. When I would get back to the office, everything looked a little less imposing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My mantra at work when things get overwhelming is “This is not a life or death situation, this is not a life or death situation…” This helps me get things into perspective too

        Like

Leave a Reply

