BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Please Mr. Postman”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

I don’t remember if I’ve done a Battle on this one, but I found two versions of the song “Please, Mr. Postman” that I had never heard before, and I had my battle. “Please, Mr. Postman” was written by Georgia Dobbins, William Garrett, Freddie Gorman, Brian Holland, and Robert Bateman. The original, sung by The Marvelettes, has the distinction of being the first #1 single for Motown Records. This is not part of the battle, so don’t vote for it.

I knew that The Beatles and The Carpenters had done a version of the song, but I found two new-to-me versions that I really like, and thought I’d let you decide which you like better.

CONTESTANT #1: The Saturdays: The Saturdays are a British-Irish girl band that was formed in 2007, according to Wikipedia. This single was released in 2014.

CONTESTANT #2: The All-New Mickey Mouse Club: This is from a show in the 1989-1990 timeframe. The young ladies are Tiffini Hale, DeeDee Magno, and Brandy Brown, and the young man playing the postman is Damon Pampolina. Tiffini, DeeDee, and Damon went on to form the band The Party after their MMC days.

Time for a vote…

So, which of these did you like better? They’re both pretty lively (dare I say, perky?) and I like the sound of both, so it’s up to you. Leave me a comment or letter, the sooner the better, telling me which of these two versions you like better, along with a little bit about why you like it better if you’d like, by Saturday at midnight Eastern Time, and I’ll bury announce the results in my Week That Was post next Sunday.

And, if you haven’t already done so, how about visiting the other Battles going on today? I’ve started casting my votes before I share my battle so I don’t forget…

Tossing It Out
Far Away Series *
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands *
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
ReInVintaged
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Janie Junebug Righting and Editing
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

* Check these blogs for further updates to this list!

Results next Sunday. Best of luck to our challengers!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

24 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Please Mr. Postman””

  1. Perky? I won’t say a word about that one.

    These are both a lot of fun. The new Mickey Mouse Club is not like what I grew up with. These kids are very good. That’s where my vote is going. MMC2 adds a lot of energy and I like their harmonies better. The synth sound of the music is kind of cool too.

    MMC2 is my vote.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. I’d like to do a write-in vote for The Beatles. πŸ™‚ Since they’re not on the bill, I’m going with The Saturdays. The vocals appealed a little more.

    Like

  3. The MMC version sounds fine; but a little canned for me. Then again, what if one of those poor little darlings saw that comment and it broke their little heart? What if they became a cautionary “true Hollywood story” as a result of my flippant commentary? How could I live with myself.

    Oh, heck. I like The Saturdays better, anyhow. And they’re Irish? Who knew?

    Thanks, friend!

    Like

  4. It was a difficult choice and I’m making my decision based on the first 10 seconds of the song because they were both too perky for me this gloomy Monday morning to listen through the entire track. I”m (reluctantly) voting for The Saturdays ;P

    Like

  5. Both are actually good but I’m giving my vote to The Saturdays. The vocals are a little more mature. But the MMC did a great job and perky is definitely a good word for that one! The Saturdays had a reality show a few years ago that I caught a time or two. Interesting group of girls.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  6. I’ve always really enjoyed the Carpenter’s version of this song. But as they are not a contestant, I must choose another. I enjoyed both of the contestants versions. The MMC2 video was a lot of fun to watch – the outfits of the era. I did cringe at the thought of perhaps a federal offense when they attacked that poor postman and stole his mail. Is that a sign that I’m getting old? I also thought the harmonies were just a bit better in the MMC2 version, so I am giving my vote to them.

    Mary
    Jingle Jangle Jungle

    Like

  7. I will go with the Saturdays because they do sound perky but have a bit less innocence to it whereas the 2nd one from the Mickey Mouse club are just too bubble gum for my taste so the Saturdays get my vote

    Like

  8. The really like the original with The Marvelettes but my vote is for MMC2. I think it followed the beat of the original better and I like the girls voices as they each took a turn at it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Well, frankly, it’s not really a song I like much to begin with. Not even when Karen Carpenter sang it, which is really saying quite a bit for me since I adored her voice and… her.

    I’m going to vote for THE D-CUPPERS over The Training Bras. THE D-CUPPERS weren’t bad (certainly a vivaciously upbeat sound), while about 52 seconds was all I could take of The Training Bras.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  10. I hope you don’t mind, I’m going to cast my vote Saturday. Yes, on Saturday I shall cast my vote. Well, actually, I have already cast my vote. I buried it within in my comment. Let’s see if you can decipher who I have voted for before Saturday.

    Like

  11. This was… yes, perky is a good word πŸ˜€ None of these would have made it into my iPod (how sad that this ultimate symbol of “new” tech is going the way of the Walkman, eh?), but there was something overwhelmingly enchanting about the MMC version and its 80’s vibe… So, against all odds, I’m going with them.

    Cool battle, John!
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

    Like

  12. After watching MMC2, I’m sure this is why my postman stays in his vehicle, no longer walking up to the neighborhood houses. Ha! Still I watched and listened to both versions twice. Perky, lively, bubbly… oh yes… but I’m going with the Saturdays… I liked the music and enjoyed the voices more.

    Like

  13. I’m going with The Saturdays on this one. I might’ve liked the Mouse girls better had they forgone the solo work and just done the entire song in harmony. But, they didn’t, and there it is. So, chalk one for those British Irish ladies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

