Monday’s Music Moves Me: Five Songs With “Mind” In The Title

A week ago last Friday, I did a Friday Five of songs that had “head” in the title, and promised I would do the word “mind” the following week. Well, last Friday I was exhausted, and forgot completely about it, using the word “tired” instead. So, since it’s Freebie Week for Monday’s Music Moves Me, I’m going to go ahead and give you five “mind” songs. Now, there are a bunch of songs with “mind” in the title that are not among these five; if you all come up with five more, I’ll do them Friday. Deal?

Journey to the Center of the Mind – The Amboy Dukes: Ted Nugent was living in the Chicago area when he formed the Amboy Dukes in the mid-Sixties. This rose to #16 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1968.

Windmills of Your Mind – Sting: Michel Legrand wrote the music and Alan and Marilyn Bergman wrote the English lyrics for this, which was used in the 1968 movie The Thomas Crown Affair, starring Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway. It won the Academy Award for Best Original Song in 1968. When the movie was remade in 1999, starring Pierce Brosnan and Rene Russo, the song was redone by Sting and used in the soundtrack. It’s become a standard, covered by such artists as Dusty Springfield, Ed Ames, Neil Diamond, Mel Torme, and Swing Out Sister.

You Were On My Mind – We Five: Written in 1962 by Sylvia Fricker, of Ian and Sylvia fame, it became We Five’s only hit in 1965. Billboard ranked it #5 for 1965.

Georgia On My Mind – Ray Charles: I would have heard about it from someone had I not included this one. This was proclaimed Georgia’s state song in 1979, and Ray Charles’s version is the best-known. It was written by Hoagy Carmichael, who allegedly named it for his sister.

If You Could Read My Mind – Gordon Lightfoot: I’d have also heard about it from someone (and you know who you are) if I had left this one out, although you know I would have gotten to it eventually. This was Gordon’s first US single, and it reached #5 on the Hot 100 and spent a week at #1 on the Easy Listening chart in 1971.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for May 16, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Five Songs With “Mind” In The Title”

  1. I’d have also heard about it from someone (and you know who you are) if I had left this one out, why, who would that be? (whistles innocently)

    Like

      1. That was the track that drew me in this brilliant selection. It’s one of my favourite Gordon Lightfoot tracks, along with Tke Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald. I went to college in Canada, just north of Montreal, so was lucky enough to go to a Gordon Lightfoot concert in the Place des Arts, Montreal.

        Like

  2. I like 3 of 5 VERY much. I could’ve sworn I knew Windmills of my mind in a George Benson version, but when I YouTube it, it seems a bit too high tempo. Perhaps it wasn’t his I loved more than the others…although, they’re all good versions, cause it’s a great song.

    Like

    1. Certain composers just have a knack for turning out great music. Michel Legrand is one, as are Henry Mancini and Burt Bacharach. “Windmills of Your Mind” is a fantastic song.

      Like

  3. My longtime friend and music collector buddy, Marvin from back in East Tennessee used to love the song “Friday on my Mind” by the Easybeats.

    He once told me that he had a thing about songs that had something to do with “On My Mind”. I guess there were a number of them on his mind, but I can’t think of any others at the moment.

    One of my favorite groups, The Good Rats, had a song on their debut album called “My Back Is Achin’ (and my Mind’s No Better).

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

Leave a Reply

