#1LinerWeds from a Wall Street Journal reader

Imagine if you could just get off Facebook entirely and think for yourself.

I have a love-hate relationship with Facebook. During election season, I hate it. The Wall Street Journal, some of whose articles the wi-fi at Starbucks has on their landing page, had this article by Geoffrey Fowler in which he suggests the following:

Facebook’s home page News Feed is run by a personalization algorithm that feeds you information it thinks you want to see. It’s a machine tuned to promote sunset selfies and live cat videos, not foster political discourse. Why not add an opposing-viewpoints button that gives me the power to see a headline from another side?

Facebook is a great place for kitten videos and funny memes, and for keeping up the members of your family, but especially at times like this (i.e. election season) it gets a little tense. During times like this, I don’t think we need an “opposing views” button. I think we need to spend less time on Facebook and more time doing something more constructive. Like writing a blog…

17474d3a52fd7efdada7b5896b5c5906

I do my best not to introduce politics on this blog. As I said way back in the beginning of this blog, I hate politics. But this picture of the lovely Tarder Sauce, a/k/a Grumpy Cat, which first appeared before the Super Bowl, might best express how I feel…

As always, we welcome replies to our editorials.

1linerwedsbadgewes

It’s One-Liner Wednesday, brought to you by the lovely and talented Linda Hill. She has the rules and links to all paricipants at her blog.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

15 thoughts on “#1LinerWeds from a Wall Street Journal reader”

  1. If you can imagine it, you can do it. I’m not on FB, so it can be done. I figure that if someone cares about me they’ll find a way to stay in touch with me. I’ve got a public blog for crying out loud! And there’s email. Walk away from FB and enjoy thinking for yourself. It’s incredibly freeing to leave. Just saying. 🙂

    Like

    1. The thing that keeps me on Facebook is my family. It’s how I stay in touch with them, and I advertise the blog there. There are also a couple of nostalgia groups I follow. Beyond that, it really isn’t all that interesting.

      Like

  2. I left Facebook for other reasons but I definitely DO NOT miss the political prattle around election time. I do miss the cat pictures, though. While not liking Facebook, the City has more or less put me in charge of its social media, so I’m on Facebook and Twitter both. If I had people far away to keep in touch with, I think I’d just use a web page.

    Like

    1. The more I blog, the less need I have of social media, apart from letting people know I have a new blog post. I get my cat picture fix on Instagram. In fact, that’s where I get a lot of my news.

      Like

  3. I’m with you, John, except I don’t follow nostalgia groups. In fact, apart from keeping in touch with family and friends, the whole ‘social media’ thing does nothing for me.

    Like

  4. Hi John – I don’t do FB .. except for the odd thing – such a waste of time in my mind … and I do like to think for myself. I can’t take sound bites of any description .. and worse when we need professional, proper information … We’re having the hassles here with our Referendum of staying in Europe, or leaving …

    Cheers – but we do need to vote (but I don’t need the ridiculous statements being made … ) Hilary

    Like

    1. There are ways to get the news without it being spun clockwise or counter-clockwise. It takes time and a certain amount of patience to plow through source documents (proposed and enacted legislation, records of government bodies, etc .), but it can be done.

      Like

  5. Last November I was in the middle of a big project and deactivated my FB account to minimize distractions. I intended to return after a couple weeks, but then I realized I didn’t miss Facebook! So I still haven’t returned.

    Like

    1. I gave Facebook up for Lent a couple of years ago, and didn’t miss it, either. I’m limiting my time to just a few minutes a day, mostly to catch up with birthdays and follow-up comments. But that’s it. There are some who spend hours on it, and I can’t understand why…

      Like

Leave a Reply

