BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Please Mr. Postman” Results

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

My most recent Battle of the Bands pitted an Irish girl group named The Saturdays against three members of the cast of The All-New Mickey Mouse Club (Tiffini Hale, DeeDee Magno, and Brandy Brown), circa 1989, to see whose version of The Mavelettes’ “Please Mr. Postman” was preferred by our august panel of judges, i.e. you. Voting is now closed, and here are the results.

The Saturdays: 12
The MMC: 5

I think this is an indication that people preferred the more mature sound of The Saturdays to the teeny-bopper treatment of The MMC Girls. It’s interesting to note that, because the MMC girls were in their early teens in 1989 when the show was filmed, they are now older than the members of The Saturdays. Just thought I’d mention it.

Anyway, congratulations to The Saturdays, who are no doubt the musical idols of the children of Tiffini, Brandy, and DeeDee, and a hearty “well done!” to the MMC Girls.

Our next Battle of the Bands will be on June 1. As I’m nowhere near as well-organized as Arlee, or any of the other hosts of Battles of the Bands, I have no idea who the contestants are or what the song will be. Join us then, anyway.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “Please Mr. Postman” Results”

  1. I guess I’m just a kid at heart. The Saturdays were good, but the Mickey Mouse club reminds me of childhood. Hmmm–maybe I’m entering my second childhood?

    I’m trying to get organized for the summer ahead and have all by Battles in place up to the beginning of September.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. I’m happy to know my choice won here!! It was a bit tough deciding but… maybe next time I’ll pull for the ‘mouse-house’.

    Like

  3. Nobody mentioned The Beatles? 😉 I picked the mature-sounding vocals as well. The best singers that ever came out of the Mickey Mouse Club were Christina Aguilera and Justin Timberlake.

    Like

    1. I’d definitely agree, and Britney Spears had her moments, though not like Christina. Christina is a tremendous singer and entertainer. And Justin Timberlake is incredible.

      Like

  4. Sometimes I have no idea who is going to be in my battle either, until the day of.
    The upcoming June 15th is probably the only one in a long time where I have a vague idea of what I’m going to be doing. But that’s for a particular reason on you’ll see on the 15th.

    Like

Leave a Reply

