Monday’s Music Moves Me: Late Fifties and Sixties Music

Thank you to Mike Golch, who served this up into my wheelhouse (as they say in baseball):

Theme for Monday’s Music Moves Me this Monday is “Late 50’s & 60’s Music” and our Spotlight Dancer is “Michael Golch”! Thanks Mike!

This presents a problem, because there’s just so much great music from this era, so what I’m going to do is pick five songs off the top of my head from that era, for your musical pleasure…

From 1964, Dean Martin, “Everybody Loves Somebody.”

From 1967, Bobbie Gentry, “Ode To Billie Joe.”

From 1956 (like me), Eddie Heywood and Hugo Winterhalter, “Canadian Sunset.”

From 1959, Bobby Darin, “Mack The Knife.”

Finally, from 1962, Bobby Vee, “The Night Has A Thousand Eyes.”

Lots of Bobbys there, huh? That’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for May 23, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

15 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Late Fifties and Sixties Music”

  1. I am in the mood for Mack the Knife. I don’t know what this means about me or my Monday, but horns are always a welcome addition.

    Speaking of this general time frame, I’m going to tell you a sad story now, John. Someone has remade “It’s My Party.”

    Like

    1. The way I see it, someone covered Lesley Gore’s song. The only one who can remake it is Lesley herself, and it was perfect to begin with. I saw her in an oldies concert about 25 years ago, and she still sounded great. Little woman with a great big voice. Sad we lost her last year.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I have one of his Greatest Hits collections, and every song is a classic. Remember his show in the Sixties and Seventies? It must have cost a small fortune to put on every week, and it was worth every penny. He knew how to entertain.

      Like

  2. Well, I do know the first couple of tunes they really wore out by playing them much too much! Maybe all of them… they played these over and over and over …. ……… AND OVER!!!! You’ve rocked the house my friend. Way ta go!!!

    Like

    1. You knew I wasn’t going to just pick five rock songs, didn’t you? There was so much more music in the Fifties and Sixties than just rock & roll. And we listened and enjoyed it anyway. Those were the days..

      Like

Leave a Reply

