The Friday Five: Songs With “Remember” In The Title

It’s Memorial Day weekend her in the United States, when we remember our service men and women who lost their lives defending this nation and our freedom. (It’s also the unofficial first weekend of summer.) I can remember the days when Memorial Day was always celebrated on May 30, before Congress moved most national holidays to Monday in the 1970’s. Veterans’ groups protested loudly over the relocation of the holiday, but their protests landed on deaf ears, and they got used to it…

Anyway, I decided to pick five songs with “remember” in the title to celebrate.

Try to Remember – Jerry Orbach

(You Forgot To) Remember – Frank Sinatra

I Will Remember You – Bing Crosby with Danny Stewart on Hawai’ian Steel Guitar

Remember Me – Josh Groban (from the 2004 movie “Troy”)

An Affair To Remember (Our Love Affair) – Vic Damone

It’s been a long day with more Internet troubles and more physical therapy, so I’m just going to give you the songs and the heck with the formatting. Sorry… Anyway, that’s the Friday five for May 27, 2016. Have a great weekend, whether here in the US or wherever you might be, and please stay safe.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “The Friday Five: Songs With “Remember” In The Title”

  1. I remember seeing the song “I Remember It Well” performed on The Ed Sullivan Show as well as in the film Gigi

    My mother used to have The Letterman album with the following song. It got a lot of play in our house.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Hi John – I hope you can recover over the weekend – take care … and I love all these songs – we need to Remember many this weekend … cheers and have a peaceful Memorial weekend – Hilary

    Like

  3. In a much different genre – Skid Row’s I Remember You is a good one, too. Got to love the 80s power ballads!

    Like

Leave a Reply

