#1LinerWeds from The Guardian

The only music Apple ever gave away for free was the album absolutely nobody wanted or asked for.

The Guardian published an article by Steve Rose in April called “A brief guide to everything that’s annoying about Apple.” Now, I have an iPhone 4s, an iPod Video (fifth generation, I think), and a Mac Mini, and Mary has an iPad, so we’re pretty well invested in Apple hardware, and have to deal with those people in Cupertino (well, not them so much as the decisions they’ve made) on a more or less daily basis. The article is so good I now have in Evernote for the day a year or so from now I want to look back on “the good old days.” I talked about the incident that provoked the line above a couple of years ago, where Apple decided to add the U2 album Songs of Innocence to everyone’s iTunes library, whether or not they actually wanted it.

Anyway, the article’s a good one and you’ll get a laugh out of it, whether or not you own anything made by Apple.


1linerwedsbadgewes

One-Liner Wednesday is hosted by Linda Hill. I don’t have a link for her one-liner just yet, but here’s her blog.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

8 thoughts on “#1LinerWeds from The Guardian”

  1. I am a die hard Apple fan and have been since my husband got me my first MAC for Christmas in 1995. Personally, I like the U2 Songs of Innocence and I am not really a U2 fan (maybe that’s why I like it an no one else does?) Happy Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not a U2 fan at all, and Apple has always done a fine job of giving me music I don’t want (a bunch of it was on my iPhone when I first got it and I had a hell of a time getting rid of it, because it kept downloading until I deleted it from the cloud). Apple’s getting almost as obnoxious as Microsoft…

      Like

    1. Oh, they’ve been great for stockholders. They’re making money hand over fist, at least for now. They’ve managed to avoid problems like Microsoft’s Windows 10 fiasco. (The Vista fiasco is where I started using Mac.) I like that Mac runs a flavor of Unix under the covers, because it’s stable, but they started adding a lot of junk to what they had. I don’t have any use for Notifications on the desktop, they’ve tried to turn Spotlight into this all-purpose search tool (if I’m looking for a file, I don’t want it searching the Internet as well), and a lot of the changes they’ve made are of little use. iOS 10 won’t work on my iPhone and I’m really not in the mood to spend a lot of money on a new one, and heaven help them if they stop supporting the iPod video.

      Like

    1. The next time Apple updates iOS 10, it won’t be supported on my iPhone, and I might just go Android rather than spend a lot of money on another one. The Kindle Fire runs a flavor of Android, and I like how it works.

      Like

  2. I am not sure but some of my friends and family members have Apple products. I don’t have any opinions on this, John. I do like U2 and would probably not mind the song. . . Take care and have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

