Writer’s Workshop: My Recent Life In Fifteen Sentences

I finished my lymphedema therapy on Tuesday. Diane, my therapist, helped me put on my Juxtalite compression garments and showed Mary and I how to get them on and off. Yesterday was our first time doing it, and I don’t think it went well. When I took the Justalites off at bedtime, I thought I had started swelling up again, but by this morning my legs had shrunk, and today we took our time and got them on comfortably and more or less correctly.

Diane showed me how to do some of the gentle massaging she did to stimulate my lymphatic system and get the fluid from my leg up through my heart, and from there through the kidneys and out. I did some of that last night, and although I was getting up to go to the bathroom about every ninety minutes, it helped shrink my leg down. Mary said she’ll help me with the massaging; she’ll be able to get lower on the leg than I can.

This discussion of my physical ailments probably fits into the TMI area, but there isn’t much to talk about otherwise. It’s been very hot and humid here in Georgia, and we’ve been blasting the air conditioning at night so we can get some sleep. We end up doing it during the day as well. We do escape whenever we can, to Starbucks, where it’s air conditioned. My great-aunt Florence told the story of when she was working in Kansas City. She said the building was air conditioned, and when people would walk out into the hot-and-humid a lot of them fainted. What did we do before then?

I wasn’t sure I could keep this discussion down to fifteen sentences (how I’m interpreting the requirement of “Write a blog post in exactly fifteen lines”). I guess I could.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop: My Recent Life In Fifteen Sentences”

  1. I really don’t find anything about health as TMI, but I’m sure some people do. What if I need to do this later, for myself or someone I love? Won’t it be nice to know a bit more about what to expect? I appreciate the honesty.
    I tend to run the ac later in the year than most, but that’s because once I turn it on, I’m unlikely to turn it off until it’s downright chilly at night again. We’ll suffer through some steamy nights, but once the open windows don’t cut it a few days in a row, I hit the ac. I feel fortunate to have a shaded lot. It makes a HUGE difference in utility costs.
    When we lived in Georgia, I ran the air pretty much ten months a year. Neither one of us can stand the heat and the sticky. I remember a time when we were kids in the 80s, we’d creep out of the attic bedrooms and both of us lie on the floor in the living room, under the fan, hating summer. So we hated Georgia, which felt like summer most of the time! LOL

    Like

  2. Gosh the humidity sounds as high in Georgia as in New Delhi. Hope your leg goes down soon – it isn’t too much information. Popping over from the Question of the Month blog hop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

