The Friday Five: “Strange” Songs

I used “Hello Stranger” as the basis for my Battle of the Bands this round, which got me thinking about songs with the word “strange” in the title. I came up with at least five; maybe you can come up with more.

People Are Strange – The Doors The first song I thought of when I came up with the theme. It was the first single from The Doors’ 1967 album Strange Days and peaked at #12 on the Hot 100, while reaching the Top Ten on the Cash Box survey.

Strange Magic – ELO From their 1975 album Face The Music, this song was released as a single in 1976 and rose to #14 on both the Hot 100 and the Cash Box survey.

Strange Brew – Cream Some classic British blues by one of the great British blues bands. This appeared on their 1967 release Disraeli Gears and reached #17 when released as a single in the UK.

Strange Things Happen – The Beach Boys This is from their 1992 album Summer In Paradise, not exactly a high point for the band. When released, the album sold less than a thousand copies and bankrupted an independent distributor. This song is a perfect example of strange things happening…

Strange – Reba McEntire I’m not much of a country music fan, but I love the way Reba McEntire sings. This was the first single from her 2009 album Keep On Loving You and peaked at #11 on the Country chart.

And that’s your Friday Five for July 15, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “The Friday Five: “Strange” Songs”

  1. I love the Doors and that song but don’t know any of the others. Will listen to some Doors when I cook later on. Thanks for the tip 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

