The Friday Five: “Cat” Songs

I was listening to a Seventies channel on TuneIn and the first song for today came up, so I said “hey, let’s do ‘cat’ as the theme today!” I like cats. A lot. So, songs with “cat” in the title.

Year Of The Cat – Al Stewart The title track from his 1976 album, this reached #8 on the Hot 100 in 1977, and while “Time Passages” did better, this is the song with which Al is identified.

Honky Cat – Elton John From his 1972 album Honky Chateau, this only reached #31 in the UK, but went all the way to #8 in the US, coming out as it did just as Sir Elton was starting a US tour.

Cat Scratch Fever – Ted Nugent The title track from his 1977 album, it only reached #30 in the US and #37 in Canada, but it’s a staple of classic rock stations and was named the #32 best hard rock song of all time by VH1, if anyone cares (does VH1 even play music anymore?).

Cat’s In The Cradle – Harry Chapin From Harry’s 1974 album Verities & Balderdash, it’s the only #1 in Harry’s tragically short career. It was nominated for a Grammy in 1975 (Best Male Pop Vocal Performance), and it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2009. (They have a Hall of Fame for everything, don’t they?)

Alley Cat – Bent Fabric Danish pianist Bent Fabricius-Bjerre (a/k/a Bent Fabric) wrote this under the name Frank Bjorn. It was originally titled “Omkring et flygel” (“Around The Piano”). It reached #7 on the Hot 100 and #2 on the Adult Contemporary chart in 1962. We had this album (with an adorable little kitty on the cover) at home; it disappeared somewhere between Rogers Park and Northfield. The clicks and pops tell you this was taken from the vinyl release.

Let me know what your favorite “cat” song is. If I get enough, I’ll do this with your choices next wee.

That’s your Friday Five for July 22, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

11 thoughts on “The Friday Five: “Cat” Songs”

  1. I don’t care much for cats but there are some good cat songs. When I was in middle school my next door neighbor and I worked up a duet of “Alley Cat” with me on violin and him on piano which we performed at a school talent show and made quite a hit with it.

    Here are 2 others that I like. The first “Stray Cat Blues” I remember trying to cipher the lyrics off the record for some friends who had a rock band back in 1968 or so. Getting the lyrics that way could be such a hassle–internet lyric sites sure have simplified that process. Here’s the Stones:

    In the 80’s I got in a Cure phase and enjoyed the song “Love Cats”

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. I like all your cat songs! (Ted Nugent’s video didn’t come up but it’s one of my favorites and I know it well). Great songs, all of them…

    Cats are cool.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  3. Fantastic Friday night tunes for me. I just played them all (-1) while I read other blogs.
    I can do without Ted, but the rest are fab. So long since I heard Lovecats!
    When it comes to cat tunes, nothing beats Cat’s in the Cradle, the song is epic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

