The Week That Was, Brought To You By TR-3

Here’s Broderick Crawford for TR-3 Resin Glaze, the ultimate skin care for your car!

It would have been great if they had used a 1950’s Highway Patrol car.

The Week That Was

I saw this on Facebook this morning, and thought it was appropriate given my Stream of Consciousness entry yesterday…

facebook_1469373739968

A few of you readers/cat owners (joey, ghostmmnc, and L. S. Engler) agreed that cats have no concept of time, at least as we understand it. There’s something quite wonderful about cats that way. They eat when they’re hungry, sleep when they’re tired, handle eliminatory functions when they have to (hopefully in the litter box), play when they feel like it (usually when the humans are trying to sleep), and climb into our laps when they feel the need to grace us with their presence. Janet let me know that California is thinking of eliminating Daylight Saving Time, which works well except on the Native American reservations, which use DST by Federal law. Doesn’t seem fair, does it? “Okay, this is your land, and you make the rules, except you have to change your clocks twice a year.” That’s the way the government works. Laws, of course, are set by Congress, most of whom had nothing to do with writing them and haven’t bothered to read them… but that’s a discussion for another day. HilaryMB is sufficiently awed by the sheer math of time, and is amazed that there’s some information from outer space that takes forty years to get here. Wouldn’t it be funny if the messages from outer space were their commercials?

Speaking of cats, The Friday Five featured songs that have “cat” in the title. Y’all came up with five of your own, which means this Friday will be a reader’s choice Friday Five! Thanks to all who contributed.

Yvonne Elliman won Battle “Hello Stranger,” doubling up The Capitols 6-3. Arlee reminded me this is a light time of the year, which is why the voting was so light.

I apologize for getting a little preachy about protecting yourself against the sun in my Writer’s Workshop entry, but seriously, melanoma is an especially nasty form of cancer, easy to cure if you catch it in the early stages, impossible if you don’t. You need only watch someone you love die from it (as I did) to realize how bad it can be. Many of you have had brushes with skin cancer (Reocochran and Keith) or know someone who has (Joey and Janet), and others have decided that the risk isn’t worth the “St. Tropez Tan.” May mentioned she wasn’t aware of the Indian head on the back of the Coppertone bottle back in the Sixties. I looked it up, and one of their advertising slogans was “Don’t Be A Paleface.”

Got some interesting replies to my One-Liner Wednesday entry, which was a quote from a local newsman who had done a “Reality Check” segment about the apparent dearth of choices for this year’s presidential election. Turns out that, in addition to the red team and the blue team, there are choices from the Libertarian and Green Parties, both of whom are getting a lot more attention given the concerns about the two “mainstream” candidates. There are the usual concerns about the “wrong” candidate winning the election because a significant number of voters chose one of the third-party candidates instead of holding their nose and voting for someone they didn’t like almost as much as they didn’t like the candidate they didn’t want to win. A vote for a third-party candidate isn’t a wasted vote; it’s a vote against both the mainstream candidates. Staying home and not voting is a wasted vote. I’ll have more to say about this after next week, when the red and blue teams have made their choices “official.” Stay tuned.

Two for Tuesday featured the remarkable Leo Sayer, who turned me off when I saw him for the first time, dressed in a Pierrot costume, but whose music really grew on me as I got older. Eden remembers the days of sitting in the front seat of her mother’s car, listening to the radio, switching between stations, while her mother was in the store. Sadly, leaving your child in a car alone, with the keys in the ignition so the kid can listen to the radio, now earns you a trip to prison and your children being taken from you. Not that there’s anything worth listening to on the radio these days. As Eden said, because of a few bad parents, we can’t have nice things anymore.

It was a freebie week for Monday’s Music Moves Me, so I celebrated the “dog days of summer” with a few songs about dogs. A lot of you liked the song “Me And You And A Dog Named Boo,” which I hated when it came out but kind of like now. A lot of music I hated then I love now. It was by a singer who called himself Lobo; at the same time we had two bands named Toto and Poco. Imagine our confusion. I got enough suggestions that tomorrow, which has been decreed as yet another “freebie” day, will feature your choices for dog songs. Be sure and join us.

So, that wraps up another edition of The Week That Was. Thanks for watching reading! See you this week!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “The Week That Was, Brought To You By TR-3”

  1. The whole “time doesn’t exist” concept is fascinating and hard for us to imagine, but true when one thinks about it. It’s something I had to keep in mind when writing my latest time travel novel, where a guy from 1756 comes forward to 1940 – he finds it odd how preoccupied people are by hours and minutes. My dog has no concept of time, except that she’s used to getting a walk in the morning. I wish we could do away with Standard Time, myself.

    Like

    1. Back in the Seventies we set the clocks ahead one hour and left them there for a couple of years, remember? Everyone got used to it, and the world didn’t end. We spend so much of the year on Daylight time, might as well do it again…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t remember it, but I wish it was something we did now. I despise time change, I always feel poorly for a few days, no matter how early I retire or how much good food and exercise. For the longest time, Indianapolis didn’t change time.
        I don’t believe in time, and I resent it.

        You had a big week here on WP John! 🙂

        Like

        1. I think all but the counties closest to Chicago stayed on Eastern Standard Time all year. The ones near Chicago were on Central Time and observed DST, because a lot of people worked in Chicago. I guess some folks in Washington threatened to withhold money unless Indiana got with the DST program. I remember the farmers were pretty vehement about it, because “cows can’t tell time.” I understand setting the clocks ahead during the summer so the sun doesn’t come up so early, but if we were go to year-round DST kids wouldn’t end up going to school in the dark much, anyway.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes, exactly, that’s exactly how I remember it, John. And the dark. Good grief, tiny people waiting for buses in the darkness, I don’t like that. I also don’t like how hard it was to get them to bed in broad daylight, either, so maybe I’m never happy.

            Like

  2. I like this whole concept of reviewing the week’s happening in a post. Reminds me of a TV show I used to love, called “That Was the Week That Was,” or TW3. Didn’t last very long, as I recollect. (Evidently, other people didn’t appreciate the show as much as I did.) It was mostly a tongue-in-cheek satirical look at current events.

    And anyone who owns a cat… or more accurately, is owned by a cat or two… time does most definitely exist. It’s CAT time. Those furry little gals who allow us to share their home call the shots. And none too quietly, either. 🙂

    Like

    1. I stole borrowed the name for the feature from TW3. Tom Lehrer, who wrote some pretty funny tunes, was a regular on it. I think it started on British TV. They tried it here, and it didn’t go over as well.

      Like

  3. I love that commercial and have no memory of it! Good old Broderick Crawford…he really didn’t change that much from Born Yesterday. Time…people are chained to it and we all are to some extent because we have to work and be at work for a certain time…punch in and punch out. Animals like routine and know when they want to be fed…..having a paw placed on my face to wake me up is typical. What I find interesting are people who suffer from dementia. No matter which dementia they have one of the first things they lose is time and it can frighten them. My mom constantly asks what time it is and what day it is but then thinks it is the afternoon when it is morning. These people often live in the moment as well. Now if we can just get rid of the time change….I am not a farmer and farmers don’t care.

    Like

    1. Broderick Crawford always looked like he had gotten in a bar fight, evn when he was doing “Highway Patrol” (one of my all-time favorite shows).

      Daylight Saving Time annoys farmers more than anything, because they don’t live by the clock. They get up when it starts to get light, finish work when it starts to get dark, and go to bed not long after dark. At least the ones without animals; then their schedules are determined by the animals. Actually a pretty civilized way to live, when you come right down to it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

