Monday’s Music Moves Me: Dog Songs – Your Choices

So, it’s another “freebie” week here on M4, and in looking at the comments people made, I discovered I have enough for a “reader’s choice.” So, your picks for songs about dogs…

Bugler – Larry Murray This one comes to us courtesy of Arlee Bird, who tells us this cut comes from a record he found in a cut-out bin in the early Seventies and which has gotten a lot of play at his house. He also tells us The Byrds did the song as well.

Shannon – Henry Gross Halfmoon Mollie tells me this song was written about the passing of Carl Wilson’s (from The Beach Boys) Irish setter. I did not know that, did you?

They Gotta Quit Kickin’ My Dog Around (Missouri Hound Dog Song) – Byron G. Harlan Susan says that they used to sing this one back in her old hootenanny days. I found this recording, evidently made by the author all the way back in 1912, which I think means it came from one of those old toilet-paper-tube records they had back then. She tells me they used to sing it a lot faster.

Seamus – Pink Floyd Dan suggested this one, which I wasn’t familiar with. I heard it and liked it immediately, because it has a sort of Delta blues vibe.

GoD and DoG – Wendy J. Francisco JoAnna came up with this short ditty that is both enjoyable and has a sweet message. Wendy posted this on her own YouTube channel, so by all means go visit it.

Many thanks to my contributors this week. That’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for July 25, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, Cathy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

11 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Dog Songs – Your Choices”

  1. I generally love Pink Floyd music, but for some reason, I never heard that song “Seamus” before. It doesn’t sound like them to me at all, but it’s still great! Kinda honky-tonk bluesy.

    Like

  2. Awwww they are all so wonderful and most of them were an introduction. Pink Floyd is too cute I have to play that one for the hubby. He’d probably can play it… Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. John, another round of dog songs. Coolness! You floored me with the facts on Henry Gross’s Shannon. I had no earthly idea the lyrics were about a dog. All these years I thought it was love song about a woman. This is my favorite of your song selections. All the others I are new-to-me. Thanks for sharing such fun little ditties with the 4M crew. 🙂

    Like

    1. JoAnna recommended “God and Dog,” and it is a very nice number, or I wouldn’t have added it to the list, though I don’t know what I would have put in its place (“Bitch” by the Stones, maybe). “Seamus” was a surprise… it doesn’t sound like what I generally associate with Pink Floyd, but I like the style.

      Like

Leave a Reply

