The Friday Five: “Moon” Songs

I was flipping around through YouTube, trying to think of a good theme for this week’s Friday Five, and landed on our first song today, and said “there’s my theme!” So today, five songs with “moon” in the title, and I made it easy on myself: I allowed it to be part of another word. At the end of all of this, you just know I’ll ask you for your suggestions, because that’s just the kind of guy I am…

Everyone’s Gone To The Moon – Chad & Jeremy The original single was by Jonathan King, who had a hit with it in 1965. Chad & Jeremy covered it on their 1966 Distant Shores album, but didn’t release it as a single. Seems funny, becaause I know I’ve heard this played on some radio stations.

Moondance – Van Morrison The title track from his 1970 album, Van didn’t release it as a single until 1977, but it got lots of play on FM radio in the Seventies.

Moonshadow – Cat Stevens This was from his 1971 album Teaser and The Firecat. When he converted to Islam and changed his name to Yusuf Islam, he decided to make a Greatest Hits album from his “Cat Stevens” days, and this was included on it. A short animation was made of this song, narrated by Spike Milligan. The song reached #10 on the Adult Contemporary chart and #30 on the Hot 100 that year.

Blue Moon – The Marcels A standard by Rodgers and Hart, The Marcels, a doo-wop group from Pittsburgh, covered it in 1961. It was a #1 hit on the Hot 100, on the R&B chart, and on the UK singles chart that year.

Man On The Moon – R.E.M. I had to include these guys from Athens, Georgia. Written by Michael Stipe as a tribute to Andy Kaufman, it was on their 1992 album Automatic For The People. As a single it reached #30 on the Hot 100, #2 on the Modern Rock Tracks chart, and #4 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks charts that year.

So, there are my five. What are some of your favorite “moon” songs?

That’s The Friday Five for August 5, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

28 thoughts on “The Friday Five: “Moon” Songs”

  1. These are great choices. I will reach back much farther than you and include a favorite from when I was growing up “Shine On Harvest Moon” – My mother played music on Saturday mornings.

    Like

  2. My road computer is very slow so I won’t provide any links, but the first songs that came to my mind were “Bad Moon Rising” by CCR and “Moon River” by Andy Williams (and many others). Also didn’t Neil Young do a song called “Harvest Moon”? Or maybe it was Harvest something else?

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mom said that “Moon River” was hers and Dad’s favorite song. I’ll be sure to add that. I’m not familiar with “Moon Over Miami,” but I’ll certainly add it. Thanks!

      Like

  3. Hi John – great selection … and apart from the others … Jeremy and Chad – I remember theirs “Everyone’s gone to the moon” … cheers Hilary

    Like

  4. My all-time favorite is “Moonlight Sonata,” but the first song that popped into my head was “Shine On Harvest Moon.” An odd pick, perhaps, but I grew up in a family that got together and sang along to Mitch Miller. 🙂

    Like

    1. Everyone learned how to keep time like Mitch Miller when I was a kid. I have a playlist on YouTube that’s an entire show of his from way back. It’s a lot of fun; I think we ought to try and bring it back sometimes. “Moonlight Sonata” is one of the few classical pieces I’m familiar with; I love the third movement, the “presto agitato.” Okay, both of these are on the list. Thanks!

      Like

  5. Love Moondance! Fly Me to the Moon and In the Misty Moonlight 🙂 Happy Friday! …Side note, had to get some compression socks for my hubby who had foot swelling after a stent placement. You are so correct that they are HARD to put on. Fortunately we only had to put on one! We finally found the secret and it worked really well. Hope you found some relief as well!

    Like

    1. A couple of good ones there. Thanks!

      Have you seen the compression sock donners? You put the sock on them, then step in. It takes care of sliding it up the leg. That might be a help. I’m wearing Juxtalite sleeves, that wrap around the leg and fasten with Velcro, but I’m not sure they’re working that well. I might have to go with compression socks after all. But I’m not willing to give up on these just yet.

      Like

      1. Interesting about the donners. We are really lucky and just wearing them three times helped get rid of the problem. Kind of pricey for three days wear but what are you going to do?

        Like

  6. WOW! lots of great responses here. How about “MoonGlow” by Benny Goodman and at the other end of the spectrum “Dark Side of the Moon” by Pink Floyd.

    Like

Leave a Reply

