Monday’s Music Moves Me: Weather Songs

We have a theme today! It’s “songs with weather conditions (the word) in it.” Of course, I modified it slightly to be “weather conditions in the title,” as is my wont. (Or so they say.) There are millions of songs either with weather conditions in the title or in the lyrics, and I picked the first five that came to mind. Feel free to add whatever songs you can think of in the comments.

Windy and Warm – Tommy Emmanuel We begin with a fingerstyle classic by John D. Loudermilk. Pretty much every fingerstyle player can play it: Doc Watson and Chet Atkins are two of the more famous ones. Here is Tommy Emmanuel’s version.

Sunny – Bobby Hebb Bobby wrote and recorded this song between two tragedies, the assassination of John F. Kennedy and the murder of his brother, who they called “Sunny.” BMI said it was #25 in its “Top 100 Songs of the Century” and it’s been covered many times, but Bobby’s original is still my favorite.

Stormy – Classics IV Dennis Yost and Classics IV did a number of hits during the Sixties, including this one, peaking at #5 on the Hot 100 in 1968, after “Spooky” and before “Traces.” Members of the band went on to form the Atlanta Rhythm Section.

A Rainy Night In Georgia – Brook Benton One of my favorite all-time songs. Sometimes you hear a song for the first time and think, “Yeah…” This one was one of them for me. Brook reached #1 on the Soul chart in March 1970, #4 on the Hot 100, andf #2 on the Adult Contemporary chart. It was written by Tony Joe White, who had a hit with “Polk Salad Annie” in 1969. He said it was inspired by all the rainy nights he spent in Marietta, Georgia. We’re about to have a few rainy nights in Marietta this week, at least that’s what Accuweather keeps telling me…

Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows – Lesley Gore I saw Lesley in concert in 1992, and she was dynamite. This song was on her 1963 album Lesley Gore Sings of Mixed-Up Hearts, but not released as a single until 1965, when it was part of the soundtrack for the movie Ski Party. Quincy Jones produced it, and it was Marvin Hamlisch’s first hit as a composer.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for August 8, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, Cathy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

20 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Weather Songs”

  1. Cloudy, by Simon and Garfunkel. Rhythm of the Rain by the Cascades. Looking at the Rain, Gordon Lightfoot. 10 Degrees and Getting Colder, also by Gordon Lightfoot….

    Like

  2. Change in the Weather — that’s Fogerty. Other than that I’m stuck on the obvious stuff like Singin in the Rain and Rain and Rain and wow there are a lot of songs about rain…Hey, how about Mr Blue Sky? 🙂

    Like

  3. Weather conditions: what a fun theme! Love it. I also love the song Sunny. The original is my favorite too.

    It’s sunny and hot here too. My AC went out over the weekend: of course it happened on a Saturday evening so I had to pay those high overtime rates, but at least it’s up and running again. We would’ve died in the hundred degree heat here…

    Have a good week.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    1. Overtime rates to the electrician are worth every penny when it comes to getting the air conditioning working. The first year we were in the house, it was as if everything had been holding on by a thread and just fell apart, including the dishwasher, refrigerator, and worse, the air conditioning and furnace. We tried to make it through the summer without and ended up buying a window unit for the bedroom so at least I could get some sleep.

      Like

    1. I fell in love with Lesley Gore when I saw her in concert. She was obviously not connecting with the backup musicians, and just the way she handled it (off-mike, very professional) was fun to watch. She kept trying to set the pace, and they weren’t getting it. Lovely woman who died way too soon.

      Like

  4. Hello again my friend. I wanted to thank you for introducing me to Tommy Emmanuel. Totally, totally awesome~! I shared a few of his tunes on my husband’s timeline on Facebook him being a lead guitar player himself I knew he’d appreciate it and man was he ever. Thanks again! ROCK ON MY FRIEND! hugs

    Like

    1. The guy is amazing. I’ve heard him play electric rock, gypsy jazz ( a la Django Reinhardt), fingerstyle. There are a ton of his videos out there, sitting in his living room, live, with Frank Vignola, with John Knowles (another Certified Guitar Player as conferred by the great Chet Atkins), Christmas music, you name it. He has a YouTube channel where he puts a lot of stuff. When I grow up, I want to play like him (would that I could get my right hand working)…

      Like

  5. Tried to find the Pioneer commercial from the WGN farm report: “Whenever farmers get together, they talk about crops and the weather…” That jingle has stuck in my head for 40 years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

