Monday’s Music Moves Me: Your Weather Songs

If you’re looking for today’s Battle of the Bands, it’s the next one down…

Another freebie week, so I thought I’d choose a few of your ideas for “weather” songs from last week’s M4.

Like The Weather – 10,000 Maniacs Dan suggested this one.

Change in the Weather – John Fogerty Joey chose this.

Stormy Weather – Billie Holiday This jumped right to the top of Susan’s mind when she saw last week’s theme.

Cloudy – Simon & Garfunkel Halfmoon Mollie had several choices, including a couple by Gordon Lightfoot, “Rhythm of the Rain,” which I included in yesterday’s “Week That Was” post, and this beauty by Paul and Art.

Mister Blue Sky – ELO Joey also contributed this, and I was in an ELO mood, sooooo…..

Thanks to all who contributed! See you next week!

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, Cathy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

20 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Your Weather Songs”

  1. funny once you mentioned it I either heard Rhythm of the Rain or heard references to it all week. Always one of my favorite songs.

    Like

  2. I’m particularly fond of this post — not just for your including two of mine — but we are having a change of weather this week. Cooler, wetter. Ahh. 🙂

    Like

    1. The “dog days” are over, finally. We’re starting to feel cool breezes, even though it’s still hot and humid (you remember Georgia in the summer). They keep predicting rain, but either it’s not getting here or it’s going around us. Plenty of clouds, some of them dark…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not sure of your city, but I was southeast, so it felt like summer most of the year and dog days lasted April to October.
        I’m glad you’re getting cooler days 🙂

        Like

  3. Weather songs was last week my friend, but hey you want to do them again today…. ROCK ON is what I always say! Luvin’ it my friend! As they say look what the weather blew in!!! bwahahaha You have a rocktastic showing here! Have a rumble of a week! hugs….

    Like

  4. John, you have some excellent song choices for your “weather” related theme; most of these are new-to-me. I know Stormy Weather, but I like Ella Fitzgerald singing this song better and of course, I know Mister Blue Sky by Electric Light Orchestra. ELO was really popular in the 70s and 80s, but then they sorta dropped off. I wonder what happened to them? Thanks for the dance music and have a tunetastic week!

    Like

    1. Jeff Lynne, the guiding light of ELO, left to do producing (notably George Harrison’s “Cloud Nine”) and of course was one of the Traveling Wilburys. The rest of the members (some of them, anyway) tour as The Orchestra; they’ve been advertising one of those “remember the 70’s before you die” cruises on TV, and one of the featured acts is The Orchestra.

      Glad you liked the tunes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

