The Hot And Humid Week That Was

Here’s Victor Kiam for the Remington Micro-Screen shaver. Shaves as close as a blade, or he’ll give you your money back!

The Week That Was

Well, I’ve been to all my blogs and left a bunch of comments, listened to some good music from Cathy, discussed cartoons with Eli, and watched a bunch of videos about why certain TV series were cancelled for no good reason than to get myself in the mood to write this. Yeah, sometimes it takes a while…

I’ve been having some wild dreams lately, then wake up and I don’t remember anything about save for the fact I had them. I lie back down and hope to fall asleep again, just to have another one. And usually I succeed. I never quite learned to write down what I remember from the dreams, but trust me, they’re pretty wild.

We’ve had a week of threats of rain, but no actual wet stuff until yesterday. So the humidity has been crazy and I keep getting promises of rain from all my various weather apps but no actual rain. This week, it looks like the temps come down and we might get some actual real honest-to-goodness rain. The lawn could sure use it…

Anyway, back to The Week That Was. Thanks to everyone who dropped by and left comments on the blog. It was more of the usual here. Let’s see…

Monday’s Music Moves Me was dedicated to presenting weather songs you liked in response to my weather songs from the week before. Based on the comments I got from many of you, my readers have excellent taste in music, something I already knew.

Last call for votes on my most-recent Battle of the Bands. The song is “A Rainy Night In Georgia,” and the contestants are the duet of Conway Twitty and Sam Moore versus Aaron Neville with a trumpet solo by Chris Botti. Results tomorrow.

The feeatured chanteuse on Two for Tuesday was Lesley Gore, and Joey let me know that a young lady named Melanie Martinez has a song called “Pity Party” that borrows some of Lesley’s song. Go have a listen. It’s… interesting…

My one-liner this past Wednesday was taken from a blog post from the incredible Kristen Lamb. Like I always say, if you don’t read her blog, you should, especially if you’re a writer, because she’s excellent. Just ask Linda, who’s been reading her blog ever since starting to use WordPress. I’ve been reading Kristen’s blog since about 2011, and I didn’t think it was possible for her blog to get better, but it has.

Writer’s Workshop was a mashup with The Thursday Ten, as Mama Kat asked me to share some Instagram accounts we follow. I had done another collection of Instagram I follow last year for WW, and managed to only repeat one (Loyola University Chicago’s Quinlan School of Business, my alma mater). Joey said my selections were “so you,” and it’s true: There are so many great accounts out there covering the spectrum of interests, you can always find something you like. Kind of like Pinterest…

The Friday Five had “white” as its theme, and you readers have sent me lots of songs that I missed, so guess what this Friday’s five will be? Really, I don’t do those “reader’s choice” selections because I’m lazy… no wait, I do… but because you come up with some great ideas, sometimes ones I never would have thought of, other times ones where I smack my head and say, “Now why didn’t I think of that?” There’ll be some great ones this week, so stay tuned!

Stream of Consciousness Saturday‘s prompt was “date,” and naturally I complained about the state of history education, which (in the United States, anyway) involves memorizing dates so you can regurgitate them on exams, then forget them. That seems to be the general feeeling about history classes: get people interested about what happened, but focus on the dates on the exams. No wonder kids hate it. I also mentioned something about wanting to see Paris, but I probably won’t, since I’m disabled and would need to talk Mary into going, and really I’m not THAT interested in it, so I won’t be sharing pictures from a trip anytime soon. I know, “never say never,” but I think in this case that’s what it is.

So that’s this edition of The Week That Was. Join me this week as I play your “white” songs on Friday, reveal the latest winner in my Battle of the Bands, post some inspiring songs tomorrow for M4, and who knows what else? See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

2 thoughts on “The Hot And Humid Week That Was”

  1. Glad to have you along for cartoon talk, my friend. I’m about to respond to your comment. I immediately thought of Elvis’ “Kentucky Rain” when I read your post. I love that song. I’d sing it in karaoke if dared, even.

    Like

    1. That’s a beauty. That’s part of my original “Rain” playlist. Ronnie Milsap wrote it with Dick Heard, and Eddie Rabbitt plays the piano on it. I’m not sure anyone else could have done it better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

