BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “A Rainy Night In Georgia” Results

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

Last week’s battle pitted Conway Twitty and Sam Moore (from “Sam & Dave”) against Aaron Neville with Chris Botti on the Tony Joe White classic, “A Rainy Night In Georgia,” popularized by Brook Benton in 1970. The votes have been tallied, and here’s the result:

Conway Twitty and Sam Moore: 7
Aaron Neville w/ Chris Botti: 4

While I thought Aaron Neville’s version of the song was all right, the combination of Conway Twitty’s country and Sam Moore’s R&B absolutely did it for me. If I allowed myself a vote, I would have gone with them. You can find their version, along with a few other country singers matched with R&B singers, on the 1994 album Rhythm, Country & Blues. On that album, incidentally, you can hear Aaron Neville and Trisha Yearwood do a great job with Patsy Cline’s “I Fall To Pieces.”

Our next Battle of the Bands will be on Thursday, September 1. It’ll be my second anniversary of doing Battle of the Bands, so I guess it should be special. Hell, all of them are special…

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

5 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “A Rainy Night In Georgia” Results”

  1. John, I agree with you Sam and Conway were the magical duo for this song. I gave them my vote and am happy they won, but I’m really surprised as I thought more would pick the more modern version. Oh well, goes to show what little I know. lol Good battle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

