Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs That Inspire Me… Hmmmmm…

“Songs that inspire us,” huh? I’m not sure that there are any that “inspire” me, per se. But, here are a few songs that make me feel good when I hear them. I guess that’s inspiration, right?

Abraham, Martin, And John – Dion This came out not long after Bobby Kennedy was assassinated. The messages of this song, “someday soon we’re gonna be one,” and “didn’t they try to find some good in you and me?” are good for this day and age.

The Potter’s House – Tramaine Hawkins I first heard this at an interfaith service for people who had died or were dying of AIDS, and when they got to the line, “the potter wants to put you back together again,” I lost it. The lyrics are here.

O Happy Day – The Edwin Hawkins Singers A classic that I’m sure nearly every church choir does. Ours does a pretty good job of it, except they do it too fast. I didn’t realize it until I heard the original again. I love hearing choir music like this.

Mornin’ – Al Jarreau Al Jarreau is a wonderful singer, and this song in particular is just so damn happy, you can’t help but feel good after hearing it. I love the bridge, that seems to build energy until he hits that high note.

Let’s Stay Together – Rev. Al Green This was popular when I was in high school, and since Al became the Reverend Al it just seems to have a whole new meaning.

So there are my five inspirational songs. What are yours?

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, Cathy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

30 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Songs That Inspire Me… Hmmmmm…”

  1. Leaves of Grass by Gordon Lightfoot (oh, what a surprise!) Its a little heard, little played song of his, one of those buried treasures.

    Like

  2. Oh Happy Day definitely definitely inspires people I’m sure along with Al Green has always been in the top favorites… Let’s stay together one of the top ones for sure. Mr. Green’s voice is just so romantic…. so sexy! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh Thanks for sharing! hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry for the duplicate comment. I was trying to do this with my phone. You may not think I’m taking this seriously, but another songs that always inspires me, especially relative to people (and one whose message I think we could use today) is “we come from the fire” – My favorite version is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPaKWihFs_Q with Harry Belafonte and The Muppets.

    Like

  4. Classic Al Green song there! Some inspiring songs that come to mind for me are We Are the Champions and The Show Must Go On (Queen), It’s My Life (Bon Jovi), and Always Look on the Bright Side of Life (Monty Python).

    Plus of course, John Lennon’s Imagine: “You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one”.

    Like

  5. So I really have never thought about it, but songs that, at the very least, get my energy up when I hear them are a product of growing up in the ’80’s and 90’s….Eye of The Tiger, Never Surrender, Right Here, Right Now and Living in America come to mind (yep…two Rocky songs in there!)

    Like

  6. (To clarify….the Jesus Jones’ “Right Here, Right Now” not the Fatboy Slim song from later in the decade sharing the same name)

    Like

  7. So many inspiring songs all in one place, and every one that I’ve always sang along too. Great job my friend. Love them all. I’ll probably be on your blog all day! Thank you for joining us and sharing the moment. hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

