The Friday Five: Your “White” Songs

I came up with five songs with “white” in the title, and asked if you had any other suggestions, and you gave me more than five. I do have one song that doesn’t have “white” in the title, and I’ll explain it when I get there.

White Wedding – Billy Idol Halfmoon Mollie thought of this one; while it’s not normally her style (but what do I know?) she was off to a wedding that day. I heard that “White Wedding” is a form of heroin, which might have been Billy’s original intent of the song, but the video shows him at a Goth wedding, so maybe he changed his mind.

White Lightning – George Jones Dan came up with this one. It’s a country classic, meaning there are a lot of versions of this one, but George seems to be having a lot of fun on the video, so I went with his.

White Flag – Dido Joey suggested this. I hadn’t heard of Dido before this, but she has a pleasant voice, and I understand this is one of her signature songs. It was released in 2003 and went all the way to #18 on the Hot 100 and #2 on the Adult Contemporary chart, so one would think I had heard it, but I stopped listening to the radio some time in the mid-Nineties…

White Room – Cream Joey also suggested this, and you KNOW I’ve heard it. It was written by Cream’s erudite bassist Jack Bruce and poet Pete Brown, while the beginning, in 5/4 time, was the work of Cream’s somewhat less erudite drummer Ginger Baker. It’s a classic.

(There’ll Be Blue Birds Over) The White Cliffs Of Dover – Vera Lynn Susan suggested the next three. This was especially popular during World War II in England, and Vera Lynn’s version was the most popular. God bless her, Vera is still with us — she’ll be 100 years old next March — and her 2009 “best of” compilation, released when she was 92, reached #1 in the British charts, making her the oldest person to have a #1 album in the UK. Another song she’s known for is “We’ll Meet Again,” which, if you’ve seen the movie Doctor Strangelove (and who hasn’t?), is the final song played as Armageddon is depicted.

The Night Has A Thousand Eyes – Bobby Vee My rules usually say that the title of the song has to include the word I’ve chosen, but rules are made to be broken, and besides, I thought the name of this was “Little White Lies,” too. Besides, I really like the song. Bobby went to #3 in the US and UK with this in 1962.

A White Sportcoat and a Pink Carnation – Marty Robbins Susan and Uncle Jack came up with this one, and somehow I remembered Marty Robbins sang it. A lot of the early rock & roll hits were actually “rockabilly,” rock done by country artists. Marty wrote this one and recorded it in 1957. It reached #1 on the country chart and #2 on the Hot 100 and was certified gold.

Black or White – Michael Jackson My brother Pat, who’s taking a break from Facebook until at least after the election (as we all probably should), suggested this, saying “that cool headshot transition montage at the end holds up 25 years later.” It’s a good song, too, with a message we can all use right about now.

Thanks again to everyone who contributed. Now to work on Monday’s list of your favorite inspirational songs….

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “The Friday Five: Your “White” Songs”

  1. Did you know Jones’ ‘White Lightning’ was written by JP Richardson (also known as the Big Bopper) and Jones asked to record it, asked that the song be given to no one else? A little triviality, here.

    Like

  2. Great selection! I’m sorry I missed the original post last week. I’ve recently started a part-time job and it has managed to fry my brain cells by the end of my shift. I’m sure as I get more accustomed to the job, it will get easier for me. I would have suggested Foreigner’s ‘Dirty White Boy’

    Mary
    Jingle Jangle Jungle

    Liked by 1 person

  3. John, Off the top of my head I can’t think of any song titles with “white” in it, except The Three Dog Knight did “Black & White” which was very popular in the 70s. Anything beyond this would require me to ask Google for help, but I am familiar with many of the ones suggested for for your list. Fabulous list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

