Two For Tuesday: Dionne Warwick

Back when we discussed Burt Bacharach and Hal David, I mentioned that most of the songs they wrote were for Dionne Warwick, the subject of today’s Two for Tuesday. They also acted as her producers through much of the beginning of her career. She was ubiquitous on the pop charts through much of the mid- to late-Sixties and into the Seventies,

In 1967, she recorded the theme for the movie adaptation of Jacqueline Susann’s Valley Of The Dolls, which starred Barbara Parkins, Patty Duke, Sharon Tate, Susan Hayward, and Lee Grant. The song was written by André and Dory Previn, and while Ms. Previn’s version appears on the original soundtrack album, Ms. Warwick’s is used in the movie. Ms. Susann reworked the lyrics so they would work better with her story, and both versions are used in the film. This reached #2 on the Hot 100 and #2 on the Cash Box survey. A rewoked sountrack album, Dionne Warwick In Valley Of The Dolls, was released in 1968 and rose to #6 in the US.

In 1968, Neil Simon adapted the 1960 movie The Apartment (which starred Jack Lemmon, Shirley MacLaine, and Fred MacMurray) into the musical Promises, Promises, featuring music by Bacharach and David. Ms. Warwick recorded one of the songs, “I’ll Never Fall In Love Again,” and it became a hit for her in 1969, rising to #6 on the Hot 100 and Cash Box surveys, #1 on the US Adult Contemporary chart, and #12 in Canada. (Bobbie Gentry’s version went to #1 in the UK.) Ms. Warwick also had hits with “I Say A Little Prayer” and “Promises, Promises” from the show.

Dionne Warwick, your Two for Tuesday, August 30, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

7 thoughts on “Two For Tuesday: Dionne Warwick”

  1. It was hard not to like the songs of Dionne Warwick. She definitely made her mark on musical history in mostly a short span of hits though she managed to maintain a long successful career.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. I always seem to enjoy her music, although I don’t own a single song of hers. I loved Valley of the Dolls, read it twice and read another Jacqueline Susann novel after that, The Love Machine, but I never did see the movie. Should I? Still, I know the song. Good post đŸ™‚ I love having these tunes while I read other blogs.

    Like

    1. I’ve never read the book nor seen the movie, other than a few clips here and there. Somehow, I think I’d like it.

      Glad you liked the tunes. Dionne Warwick was practically impossible not to like. Bacharach and David had a lot to do with that, I think.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

