A Cumulative Mea Culpa #socs

Seeing the prompt accumulate reminds me that I’m a terrible packrat when it comes to stuff in general, but in particular things on the computer. It’s just so easy to get behind on my reading and just let it keep building up until I just end up throwing everything out and starting over again.

Inoreader, for example. About ten days ago, I cleared everything out of it, about 110 articles or so. Today, 124 sit there waiting for me. I started saving things I wanted to read later there because Pocket, which I used to use, is full, some of the things from months ago. I have about 300 articles in there, and it’s driving me crazy. I’ve gotten to where I don’t even know what I have in Evernote anymore. I have an inbox folder that accumulates all the stuff I want to eventually file in permanent storage, but it just sits there.

I’m about as bad with email, although I have gotten better with it. Still, I end up holding on to emails that I need to check whether I’ve replied to or not. I think what I might do is turn off all notices from WordPress and just work with the apps on my phone, Kindle, and the WordPress site itself, because actually the emailed notices are next to worthless with a threaded conversation. Have you WordPress folks noticed that? Instead of showing me the previous entry on the thread so I know what you’re talking about, it shows me the blog post itself. Caramba! I end up having to bring the post up and read the thread there. If I’m going to do that, maybe I should just do it with all comments.

Blogger’s worse, have you noticed that? If you check the box that says “Notify me of follow-up comments” you get every subsequent comment, whether it relates to yours or not. Some of the Blogger blogs I follow are very active, so I’ll get like a thousand emails that have nothing to do with my comment.

Anyway, I’m sorry if you left me a comment and I haven’t replied. I don’t generally reply to Battle of the Bands comments, though I try to respond in the results post. I’ve taken to at least “Like”ing comments so at least you know I’ve seen it, but I don’t always remember to do that.

So, now to clean out everything and try not to let it get that bad again…


socsbadgecropped

Stream of Consciousness Saturday comes to you through the kindness and generosity of Linda Hill, who you can find here. You’ll also find the rules and the pingbacks from everyone else.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

12 thoughts on “A Cumulative Mea Culpa #socs”

    1. I’m going to try shutting off all the messages I get from WordPress and see how that goes. It’ll definitely cut down on the email, which isn’t bad to start with but which causes a certain amount of stress…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one with an overflowing inbox and yes following comments can get really overwhelming. I started with e-mail notifications on for blogger comment replies but soon found it was impossible to keep up with so I ditched that idea. WordPress is better for that but I’m not ready to move sites just yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

