Monday’s Music Moves Me: Back To School!

The theme for this week’s M4 was chosen by Patrick Weseman: “Back To School Songs!” Songs that are about teachers, students, and school! See, up until a few years ago, school started the Wednesday after Labor Day in the US, and it probably still does in some places. Here, school started the first Monday of August, so by now the kids are ready for a break. This is a day off for them, although they probably had homework over the weekend.

The Drop-Outs’ March – Allan Sherman From Allan’s 1964 album, Allan In Wonderland, when dropping out of school was associated with delinquency, I guess.

School Days – Chuck Berry One of Chuck’s best-known songs, fom 1957. He had an all-star band behind him: Hubert Sumlin (Howlin’ Wolf’s longtime guitarist) on guitar, Willie Dixon (one of Chicago Blues’ most prolific songwriters) on bass, and Fred Below (from The Four Aces) on drums. It went to #5 on the Hot 100 and #1 on the R&B chart.

Smokin’ in the Boy’s Room – Brownsville Station The pride of Ann Arbor, Michigan, they went to #3 with this in 1973, when I was in high school and smokin’ in the boy’s room myself.

Maggie May – Rod Stewart Off Rod the Mod’s 1971 release, Every Picture Tells A Story, it went to #1 in most of the free world and sold a lot of 12-string guitars.

Charlie Brown – The Coasters Singers of some of the more hilarious songs to hit the charts, The Coasters released this in February 1959. It went to #2 in the US and #6 in the UK.

And that’s Monday’s Music Moves Me for Labor Day, 2016. Let me know which ones I missed.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, Cathy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

24 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me: Back To School!”

  1. Cheech and Chong, “Sister Mary Elephant. ” (arguably) “Will I See You in September?” by Franky Valli and the Four Seasons. “Don’t Stand So Close to Me,” the Police. And there was one that immediately popped into my head, that I couldn’t believe you hadn’t thought of, then just as immediately popped back out before I could write it down! As the Rolling Stones say, “what a drag it is getting old.”

    Like

    1. The original “See You In September” was by the Tempos, and The Happenings had the big hit with it. Frankie Valli’s version sounds a lot like The Happenings. Great song, one of my faves lately. Someone else reminded me of “Sister Mary Elephant”; it’s not really a song, but a real funny bit. Ever heard “Don’t Stand So Close To Me ’86”? I actually like it better than the original. Check in the comments.

      Was the song you forgot “Wonderful World” by Sam Cooke? (His was the only one worth remembering; James Taylor and Simon & Garfunkel should be beaten with sticks for theirs…)

      Like

  2. We’ve seen Rod Stewart in concert a couple of times now and he still sings Maggie May! How about The Police “Don’t Stand So Close to Me” and Wonderful World by Sam Cooke? Thanks for the music on this Labor Day.

    Like

  3. Oh my, Allan Sherman! Speaking of childhood memories..I was thinking of Sister Mary Elephant (one of your commenters) just the other day for my next week’s Music Monday. In my area, school starts the THURSDAY after Labor Day (this Thursday, gulp) and I was thinking of doing a back to school post. Hope I’m not accused of plagiarism if I use the Allan Sherman song. So how about this one, perhaps a bit inappropriate, in return – Hot for Teacher, by Van Halen.

    Like

  4. You got it right on the money my friend. I’m sure everyone is saying why didn’t I think of that one!??? bwahahaha I k now I am! GREAT JOB and thanks for joining us! hugs

    Like

  5. Here’s another song called “School Days” by one of my favorite rock groups, The Good Rats– you might remember I offered up another song by them a while back.

    Like

    1. You wouldn’t have heard “The Drop-Outs March” unless you were really into Allan Sherman, who was popular in the Sixties and not much after then. His first three albums reached #1, then things fell off really sharply after that, probably because by then The British Invasion was in full swing.

      I saw you had “Beauty School Dropout” on your list. That was a great scene in the movie.

      Like

Leave a Reply

