Question of the Month: Music That “Speaks To Me”

Guess it’s Question of the Month time, isn’t it? Michael sent out the question early last month, and it’s been sitting in my email all this time. If I answer it, I can get rid of the email! Yay!

QotMBadge

This month’s question comes to us from Alex J. Cavanaugh:

What kind of music best speaks to you?

This is a much harder question than you might think, because different music speaks to me at different times. At different times in my life, I might have said British Invasion rock, horn rock (e.g. Chicago, Blood Sweat and Tears), blues, New Wave, Eighties Europop, jazz in various forms (smooth, post-bop, Dixieland, cool, Gypsy, etc.), “Hee Haw” country, musical comedy (Spike Jones, Homer & Jethro), folk-rock, fingerstyle guitar, surf, garage rock, blues-rock, jazz-rock, fusion, lite rock, yacht rock… and that’s just for starters. Best way to tell is to look at my Two for Tuesdays, or Battles of the Bands, or Monday’s Music Moves Me, or The Friday Five. In every one of those instances, the music I’ve played here is music that spoke to me the day I wrote the post. Or take a look at the playlists I’ve built on YouTube.

See, I can’t really nail it down. There’s music all over, and either I like it or I don’t. A lot depends on my mood. For example, I remember the morning I played this over and over in the car because I was feeling frustrated with my job and my life…

It was really the first time I listened to the lyrics as more than just another part of the music.

When explanations make no sense,
When every answer’s wrong,
You’re fighting with lost confidence,
All expectations gone.
The time has come to make or break;
Move on, don’t hesitate.
Breakout, don’t stop to ask;
Now you’ve found a break to make it last.
You’ve got to find a way,
Say what you want to say; breakout.
When situations never change,
Tomorrow looks unsure,
Don’t leave your destiny to chance.
What are you waiting for?
The time has come to make or break.
Breakout, don’t stop to ask;
Now you’ve found a break to make it last.
You’ve got to find a way,
Say what you want to say; breakout.
Breakout, don’t stop to ask;
Now you’ve found a break to make it last.
You’ve got to find a way,
Say what you want to say; breakout.
Some people stop at nothing.
If you’re searching for something,
Lay down the law, shout out for more.
Breakout and shout day in and day out;
Breakout, don’t stop to ask’
Now you’ve found a break to make it last.
You’ve got to find a way,
Say what you want to say; breakout.
Don’t stop to ask;
Now you’ve found a break to make it last.
You’ve got to find a way,
Say what you want to say; breakout.
Don’t stop to ask;
Now you’ve found a break to make it last.
You’ve got to find a way,
Say what you want to say; breakout.

(Lyrics courtesy Metrolyrics)

Of course, I didn’t do a damn thing about it… but that morning, it spoke to me, loud and clear.

Another time, I was driving to the airport, and this song came on, and when it got to the fast part (started at 4:45), I cranked it all the way up and just drove, really fast, screaming all the way. I think I hit a hundred… I could have cracked up, and I wouldn’t have cared. I don’t know what got into me.

And there was the day I was really pissed about something, and played this a bunch of times…

A lot of times, though, the music just sits there in the background, like white noise.

I don’t know if this is the answer you were looking for, Michael, but it’s the one I’ve got.

I’ll be around to read the responses from the participants, but what about the rest of you? What music speaks to you?

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

16 thoughts on “Question of the Month: Music That “Speaks To Me””

    1. Aren’t they, though? And I admit having a bit of a crush on Corinne Drewery… I love her voice.

      I’m kind of glad I wasn’t hurt, too, but if I remember the day (close to when I played Breakout over and over) I really wouldn’t have cared. It might have gotten me to make some changes (assuming I lived through it all…)

      Like

  1. Music as scream therapy. I do that with hard rock and heavy metal, sometimes. 😀 Loved Red Dust and Spanish Lace! Jethro Tull makes great “mood music”. Power rock and blues ballads speak to me the most, but I love all kinds of music (and dislike some as well). This was an enjoyable read. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Great lyrics from Breakout. And there’s your horn music too.
    I too have driven really fast because of music, although I don’t think that particular piece would’ve done it for me. 🙂
    I’m not a huge Jethro Tull fan but there are a few of the songs that I like, Locomotive Breath being one of them.

    I just joined the Question of the Month bloghop today and am looking forward to being a part of the crew…

    Hope you’re enjoying your Labor Day John. Have a great week,

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  3. Having followed your blog for a good while now, your answer comes as no surprise to me nor does the fact that your musical taste is akin to my own for much the same reasons. It was particularly nice hearing “Break Out” again after decades. I used to like the Swing Out Sister album a lot and then I loaned my cassette copy to someone and as is often the case I never saw it (or heard it) again. Oh well, there was plenty of music in my collection to take its place.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    1. I wore the tape out, so I got the MP3 version. I’ve had to recreate most of my music collection because I got rid of my records and tapes, for some crazy reason (it was right after my stroke, plus I had no way to play any of them)…

      Like

  4. Love Breakout – haven’t played that for ages! And as for Locomotive Breath – I went through a phase of rebuying all my Jethro Tull (it was stolen), and played LB over and over when I got it back. One of my favourite tracks to drive to, as well! I think our tastes have a pretty heavy crossover 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

