BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “September Song” Results

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

In my September 1 Battle, the song was Kurt Weill and Maxwell Anderson’s “September Song,” from the 1938 Broadway musical production of Knickerbocker Holiday, and the contestants were Jimmy Durante and The Platters. The results? Drum roll, please…

We have a tie!

Jimmy Durante: 7
The Platters: 7

The Platters’ cover of this song was everything that was right about The Platters: gorgeous voices and perfect harmony. As a musical performance, it can’t be beat. Jimmy Durante, on the other hand, brought a poignancy to the song that only he could. What he lacked in singing ability he made up for in emotion. These were essentially the reasons you gave for voting one way or the other.

Thanks to everyone who voted in this battle, and congratulations to both Jimmy Durante and The Platters for a job well done. I’ll be back with another battle next Thursday, so tune in then. I leave you with Walter Huston’s original version…

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “September Song” Results”

  1. John, it was looking like my battle was going to end in a tie, but it didn’t. I’m a bit surprised your battle ended this way, though. I thought for sure The Platters would steal it, even though I went with Durante.

    Like

    1. I’m never really sure what’s going to happen with these Battles. I happen to love Durante, who, as a singer, is a great comedian, and his version always chokes me up, especially when he gets to the line “These few precious days I’ll spend with you.”

      Liked by 1 person

    1. She did a good version of it, as did Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday. I think even Lotte Lenya did it, since she was married to Kurt Weill. It’s a beautiful song, isn’t it?

      Like

  2. Good contest! I hold to my argument in favor of Durante–his version was probably the first I ever heard so many years ago when I was a wee lad. But the Platters version is outstanding as well.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. Congrats on your tie! The result surprises me. I figured The Platters would take it. I just didn’t find the Durante version pleasing…but that’s what makes the beauty of music appreciation. We all have different ears…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

