The 9/11 Week That Was

This week’s edition of The Week That Was is brought to you by Dial A Joke, with Henny Youngman.

The King of the One-Liners! He’d tell jokes so fast, you hadn’t stopped laughing from the last one before he had you laughing at the next.

The Week That Was

Today is the fifteenth anniversary of the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon and the attempted one on either the White House or the Capitol Building, depending on who you ask (not that it matters; the plane didn’t make it, thanks to the passengers organizing a mutiny). That means that this Thursday is my cousing Genny’s fifteenth anniversary. She and her husband Bob were married that Saturday, and she was a stunning bride. We weren’t sure we would make it when they shut down the air lanes, but they reopened just in time for our flight. Nearly everyone made it there.

On to the business at hand…

My latest Battle of the Bands, Jimmy Durante versus The Platters in “Battle ‘September Song’,” ended in a tie, coming as a great surprise to everyone. We’ll have another one this Thursday, so stay tuned.

Monday was either Labor Day or Labour Day, depending on where you live, which traditionally signals the end of summer and the beginning of the school year, at least in the northern part of the US. In the South, school started a month ago. Anyway, the task on Monday’s Music Moves Me was to play songs that had to do with “back to school.” A couple of people mentioned they had never heard the Allan Sherman tune, “Drop-Outs March.” Allan was really popular in the early Sixties before the British Invasion pushed everyone not speaking with an English accent off the Top 40, and he was quickly forgotten. A shame, because he was my favorite singer around that time, and I loved his song parodies, such as “Pop Hates The Beatles.”

Monday was also Question of the Month day, on which we were asked to explain what kind of music speaks to us. That was a hard question to answer because different music speaks to me at different times, and as I said “music is all around, and I either like it or don’t.” I gave a couple of examples, including Swing Out Sister’s “Breakout,” which gained a whole new meaning when I was on my way to work one morning. Several of you said you liked the song, and were happy I had put the lyrics in the post.

Two for Tuesday‘s featured artist was The Divine Miss M, Bette Midler. She has a lot of fans among my readers, and while she’s not especially my favorite artist, she has a tremendous voice and can be very funny.

One-Liner Wednesday featured a quote from David Sarnoff, for many years the chairman of RCA, which owned the NBC network, as quoted in Marshall McLuhan’s Understanding Media. The more I read the book, the more I realize how much it applies to the Internet and social media. Sarnoff’s law states that a broadcast network’s value is proportional to the number of viewers they have; it doesn’t say whether it’s directly proportional or inversely proportional, though.

Thursday’s Writer’s Workshop responded to the prompt “Top ten reasons why you are glad you are done with school.” Uncle Jack said the reason for him is everyone trying to convince him that Latin was worth studying. I agreed, since my mother was one of those people who believed it was and she felt it would help me with English, a language I had been speaking all my life. I shared my first A to Z Challenge entry of 2012 which addresses the subject well.

Friday was my brother Pat’s birthday, so The Friday Five was the top five from WCFL for the day he was born. A couple commented on the eclectic nature of the music, which was a mix of hard rock, soft rock, folk, and country. That was the Seventies, plus you had disco mixed in there (those songs were a little further down the chart). Pat liked it nonetheless. Several people remarked about Janis Ian’s “At Seventeen” being on the chart. Arlee said it was one of the most amazing songs he had heard, from one of the most amazing albums. It was a good song, just not ten times a day, how often you might have heard it on some stations. I explained to Dan that, in the days of Top 40 radio, you could expect to hear a song from the Top Ten every fifteen minutes or so, meaning you’d likely hear it three times (at least) during the work day.

The prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday was “view,” and my essay was about my experiences with a product that the company I worked for developed in a desperate attempt to remain the top software company in the world, BrightView, and how a Three Stooges short, Dizzy Doctors, became significant while we were training on it. You know it must have been an interesting time if The Stooges were involved. And it was.

And that’s this edition of The Week That Was. Join me this week for all the regular features and maybe more. See you soon!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

1 thought on “The 9/11 Week That Was”

Leave a Reply

