BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?”

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

I have Uncle Jack to thank for this battle. He suggested this as a song with an “-est” word in it, and when I was looking for the song, I discovered that nearly everyone had done it. This time, I’m going with female artists, and chose two women who rose to fame in the Sixties as the contestants.

“What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?” was written by Alan and Marilyn Bergman, with music by Michel Legrand, for the 1969 film The Happy Ending. I featured the song in The Friday Five a week ago Friday as sung by Frank Sinatra, so if you’ve never heard it, you can go over there and listen, or listen to the fine job our two contestants did with it.

CONTESTANT #1: Barbra Streisand

CONTESTANT #2: Dusty Springfield

So, you know the drill: listen to both contestants, decide which one you like better, and let me know who it is in the comments, as well as why it was you chose that one. Remember, there’s no right or wrong answer, we’re just looking for which one you like better. Then, go visit the other blogs that might be doing BotB today and do the same thing with theirs…

Tossing It Out
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands *
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
Evil Pop Tart
ReInVintaged
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Janie Junebug Righting and Editing
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

* Check Stephen’s blog for further updates to this list!

I’ll announce the winner of today’s contest next Saturday, October 8, so be sure and get your vote in by then.

Best of luck to Barbra and Dusty! The lines are now open!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

14 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?””

  1. This is a beautiful song that I always loved. I will go with Barbra Streisand on this one. I found her voice better. Dusty was good but there was something about it that I didn’t take to as much. I just wish I could find the right words to explain.

    Like

  2. Streisand seems to bring the emotion of this song to a level that I can feel better. Springfield lacks the same comfort level and it sounds more forced to me. I vote for Barbara.

    Like

  3. I love this song so much that the sheet music is open on my piano, so that means big love. I vote for Barbra Streisand. Although I think she could speed it up an itsy bit, on a ballad like this her voice can’t be beat.

    Love,
    Janie

    Like

  4. I really can’t stand Barbra Streisand as a person, but I can’t deny she has a fabulous voice — one of the best female singers of all time.

    I generally like Dusty Springfield (boy, was I ever shocked to learn she was a lesbian!) but she can’t compete with Barbra on a ballad like this.

    ~ D’plorable D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  5. Barbra Streisand gets my vote on this. Her voice is so spectacular and she takes this song to a level that Dusty just couldn’t reach. Dusty was good, don’t get me wrong, but I think Barbra owned it.
    Nice song choice.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  6. Wow, what a tough battle for me. I like both versions. I had to listen to both versions over again. At the end, I decided Barbara just barely edges out Dusty. Please give my vote to Streisand.

    Like

  7. Maybe I screwed up the the playing of the two recordings, or my hearing is going bad, but they sounded like the same singer. I call it a draw.

    Like

Leave a Reply

