Monday’s Music Moves Me 2: Elvis Songs From Movies

Well, that’ll teach me. I usually put these posts together on Sunday afternoon, and always check X-Mas Dolly’s blog for the theme for that week. Now, I knew that last week was a “freebie,” meaning there’d be a theme for this week, too. HOWEVER, when I went to Dolly’s page yesterday at 2 PM, it still said this week was a freebie, so I went with that. Imagine my surprise when I get up this morning to a bunch of M4 posts all going with the official “Elvis Songs” theme.

Well, I already had a M4 post done, and I briefly considered just going with that, but I just couldn’t. I had seen nearly everyone’s post and saw that The King of Rock ‘n’ Roll’s greatest hits had been covered pretty well, so I went instead with songs from some of his movies. WLS-TV in Chicago (the ABC station) used to have a “3:30 Movie” every day, and Elvis Presley and Jerry Lewis movies were popular (probably because they could hack them to pieces to fit all the commercials in), so I’ve seen a lot of them, though I can’t remember much about them.

Wooden Heart (from G. I. Blues, 1960) The melody is that of “Muss I Den,” a German song. I knew it sounded familiar.

No More (from Blue Hawai’i, 1961)

Bossa Nova Baby (from Fun In Acapulco, 1963) I had an acquaintance when I was much younger (probably around the time this song was released) who loved this song.

Gotta Lotta Living To Do (from Loving You, 1957)

Trouble (from King Creole, 1958)

And that’s your second Monday’s Music Moves Me for October 3, 2016.

Monday’s Music Moves Me is sponsored by X-Mas Dolly, Callie, Stacy, Cathy, and Naila Moon, so be sure and visit them, where you can also find the Linky for the other participants.


Photobucket
Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

9 thoughts on “Monday’s Music Moves Me 2: Elvis Songs From Movies”

  1. I used to love those afternoon movies. Many a day after school I would watch those. Especially when I lived in San Diego. If a sci-fi movie was on you can bet I’d skip going outside to play and watch the movie. I saw so many movies like that and some of them many times.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Great music, although you aged yourself with the comment about the song. I don’t remember what my friends liked in 1963. I was around but don’t remember much.

    Like

  3. I have seen most of the Elvis movies and still enjoy them. My uncle, who died in 1971, was a huge fan of Elvis and saw all his movies. I loved his sweet song of Muss I Den which I know well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

