Writer’s Workshop: I Think I Need Something Fresh

“What were you blogging about last year at this time? How have things changed?”

I went back to October of last year and saw that I had already done this post then. You can see last year’s post here. So, how have things changed? Not a whole lot.

Most of my regular features (Monday’s Music Moves Me, Two For Tuesday, The Friday Five, One-Liner Wednesday, Stream of Consciousness Saturday, the bi-monthly Battle of the Bands, and The Week That Was) have continued intact from then, though I believe The Friday Five had just started not long before. I was still doing The Thursday Ten, although I was phasing it out in favor of this Writer’s Workshop. In some cases, they coincided. I hadn’t done a Wednesdays for My Wife post yet; I believe those started later.

I did a lot of music posts, as I always do. At the time, I was building playlists for the longer ones, although I stopped doing that because I had received comments that some folks weren’t seeing the playlists, and besides, with that much music, my readers (that includes you) might want to pick and choose which videos they want to play.

Hmm… now that I read this, I’m starting to think that maybe I need to shake things up a little. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

10 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop: I Think I Need Something Fresh”

  1. I think you have to do what works for you. If it pleases you that’s a good thing. If it then pleases others that’s a bonus. I think lots of us go through phases of blogging depending on what’s going on in our lives. Blogging can be a good habit to have but if it becomes a chore then it’s time for a rethink. I was interested to see this time last year you were just connecting to Facebook and coming out as it were to your family. I haven’t got there yet.

    Like

  2. That’s a lot of regular features! If you feel like you need a change, go for it. I’ve tried to write about music on my blog but I tend to get very little (or zero) feedback on those posts. At first I didn’t mind but it was a lot of work, a lot of time, and it didn’t seem like any of my 14 readers were interested. That’s partially why I didn’t stick with Battle of the Bands – it would have been a full-time job to keep that kind of schedule!

    Like

  3. Might I suggest “songs with Shak… in the title” 🙂 I apologize if you’ve done that. Then again, maybe I’m being too literal. I tend to like whatever you put up over here, but I don’t usually have time to listen to too many songs 😦

    Like

    1. Thanks for the idea. Tomorrow, songs with “shake” in some form in the title… XD

      I was talking about new features people people might like to see, but I’m happy you like what’s going on here. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I have these worries as well. But then I think if I’m not careful then blogging, which is something I supposed to be doing for ‘fun’ gets too serious and then what’s the point?

    Like

Leave a Reply

