BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?” (Men’s Division)

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

As I hinted at when I published the results of my last battle, I’m going to do the same song, “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?” but this time give you two male artists. Your job will be to select which you like better and leave me a comment, like we always do. Frank Sinatra’s version is more or less the standard, and is not a contestant in this battle, because I felt he might run away with it (as if that hasn’t happened before).

CONTESTANT #1: Michel Legrand Yes, the composer of the song (the Bergmans wrote the lyrics) has done a version of this one.

CONTESTANT #2: Chris Botti featuring Sting Smooth jazz trumpeter Chris Botti does a lot of the standards, and is joined by Gordon Sumner (a/k/a Sting) in his version.

Okay, you know the drill: listen to both, pick a fave, and vote in the comments, THEN go visit some of the others having battles today:

Tossing It Out
StMcC Presents Battle of the Bands *
Your Daily Dose
Mike’s Ramblings
Curious as a Cathy
DC Relief – Battle of the Bands
Evil Pop Tart
ReInVintaged
Book Lover
Alex J. Cavanaugh
Shady Dell Music & Memories
Debbie D. at The Doglady’s Den
Angels Bark
Jingle Jangle Jungle
Janie Junebug Righting and Editing
Cherdo on the Flipside
Holli’s Hoots ‘n’ Hollers
J. A. Scott
Quiet Laughter
NovelBrews

* Check Stephen’s blog for further updates to this list!

Stephen will be culling this list to remove all the non-participants soon.

I’ll announce the winners next Saturday. Best of luck to Michel, Chris and Sting!

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

20 thoughts on “BATTLE OF THE BANDS: “What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?” (Men’s Division)”

  1. I’m going with Chris and Sting. I liked Michael’s version but Chris/Sting were just a bit smoother and I enjoyed their version better.
    Excellent battle. Great song!

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

  2. The composer’s version was more in keeping with the traditional sound of the song, but Botti and Sting stayed within tradition as well and they did it just a bit better.

    Chris Botti and Sting for me.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  3. Sorry I missed the last one! The composer’s rendition lacked something; can’t say what, exactly. Chris and Sting were far more interesting. Please give my vote to them.

    Like

  4. JOHN ~
    Our BOTB participants list at my site is now current. I think there’s a total of 13 of us at this time, although a few folks are hoping to return again sometime in the future.

    Well, I liked the music in Legrand’s recording but his voice is kind of weak. And I’m really a Chris Botti fan (Sting, not so much) so when I saw his name mentioned I was pretty sure he’d be getting my vote. And he does.

    ~ D-FensDogG
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

    Like

  5. I’m giving it to Chris &a Sting also because I felt I would be sitting in some small jazz club while hearing this. The first one was ok and he created the song but he is just not the best singer in my book.

    Like

  6. Such A beautiful song! I liked both but the ‘Chris Botti featuring Sting’ version was a bit more upbeat. I’ll vote for them, John.

    PS – I’ll be off of the BOTB list for a while.

    Like

  7. Sorry I missed the women’s finals on this song. Health and wellness have not been good in RobinLand.
    Anyway, this was a treat of a song. I particularly liked the Botti version with Sting, so give them my vote:)

    Like

    1. This is just a great song, any way you cut it. Tough, tough decision…but I’m giving my ONE AND ONLY vote to Chris and Sting. Truthfully, I’ve always had a soft spot for Sting…confession is good for the soul.

      Thanks, buddy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

