Very Little About Screens #socs

old-television-clip-arttechnology-clip-art---for-teachers-parents-students-and-the-hhuao1p7

I hear “screen,” I think TV. I spent many hours glued to the TV screen when I was in grammar school, watching whatever came on, just because I thought it was fascinating. And I still got good grades and turned out relatively normal.

But I’ve told you that already. I’d be repeating myself, and I do enough of that already. I think sometimes I repeat things just to remind myself about them. It worries me, but then, it’s normal at sixty to start forgetting things. Isn’t it?

hero_evernote_logo

As I said a while back, jotting things down in Evernote would certainly help, except, knowing me, I’d forget to go to Evernote and check them. And that won’t do. It’s just that I have such a jumble of stuff in there, I’d get lost looking for it.

Still, that’s no reason not to do it. For a while, I was writing myself notes at the end of each day to remind myself of what I did and what other significant things happened during the day. Not a journal so much as a diary. No deep thoughts, just notes on the significant things that happened that day to me, Mary, the cats, and the world in general. I stopped doing it because I tried too hard to structure what I wrote there. I think it needs to be more of a bullet journal, just bullet points on what happened during the day and what I need to remember.

Not actually a bullet journal, which look too much like a kid’s art project. Okay, that’s not fair. Some of them do, but not all of them. But they are a good way to remember stuff.

I have that problem sometimes, where I fret so much over form that I forget the function. Maybe let the form evolve as I use it. But use it. I can work out the picky details later.

I’ve really wandered off the “screen” reservation, haven’t I? And no, that’s not intended to insult anyone.


socsbadgecropped

Stream of Consciousness Saturday is organized by Linda Hill, who has pingbacks and the rules over at her place.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

7 thoughts on “Very Little About Screens #socs”

    1. Eventually, I have to get in there and clean it up. There’s a whole boatload of stuff I moved over from Springpad and put in a notebook without knowing what’s there. There could be some good ideas that I’m not taking advantage of, or just a lot of crap that’s just getting in the way…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

