The “Happy Anniversary, Mom & Dad” Week That Was

This edition of The Week That Was is sponsored by Winston cigarettes. Winston tastes good like a cigarette should!

The first time I flew on an airplane (1967), a mini-pack of Winstons was on the tray with dinner. I think I gave them to the guy next to me.

The Week That Was

Before I forget, today is my parents’ 62nd wedding anniversary. Dad’s been gone almost fifty years now, and Mom’s been gone since the turn of the century, and I think of them every day.

This was a freebie week, and I was in a bossa nova mood, so I featured five songs by Antonio Carlos Jobim. Joyce and X-Mas Dolly liked hearing the songs again, which is sort of an indication about how the music has fallen out of the spotlight. Collette, on the other hand, was unfamiliar with the music, again an indication of how it’s fallen out of the spotlight. It’s still quite popular in jazz circles, which surprises me, because you’d think it’d be popular on “smooth jazz” stations, but aside from them occasionally dusting off their copy of “The Girl From Ipanema” and playing it, they don’t. Guess it would push some of the Motown oldies they seem to play more often than they should… but that’s another discussion.

2fortuesdaybadge

Barbra Streisand was the featured artist as I continued my survey of female singers. Dan said he remembered watching A Star Is Born in a movie theater and thinking, “I can’t believe I’m watching a Barbra Streisand movie.” Kip, always one to think of things like this, said no discussion of Barbra would be complete without talking about Yentl, a movie she directed and was generally well-received, though the critics had a few issues with it (Roger Ebert called it “a movie with a great middle,” leading me to think he didn’t care for the beginning and end of it). Joey agreed that she’s an amazing entertainer, and she likes her movies as well. Barbra did a couple of screwball comedies in the Seventies, one of which, For Pete’s Sake, I’ve seen and thought was quite funny.

1linerwedsbadgewes

This week’s one liner came courtesy of a blog post I read by musician/blogger Kit Walker, who said “Attention is the true currency.” It’s worth reading his whole post to see what he was thinking of. Janet said she’s getting tired of the whole election thing going on here and has turned her attention elsewhere. I think a lot of us have. Mary and I vote by absentee ballot, and we plan on completing ours and mailing them in this week, so we don’t have to think about it anymore. Serves them right. I still like the idea of putting them through The Hunger Games to determine the winner. Linda said she’ll read it “when she gets a moment,” which she doesn’t get many of. I can only imagine.

Mama Kat asked about what I had been blogging about a year ago, and in looking at last October, not much has changed here. I mused on about needing something fresh, maybe something in addition to what I’m already doing. Wendy said I should do what makes me happy, which I do. It isn’t as though I don’t like what I’m doing. I love it, but sometimes I think I need to do something more. Chris said I have an awful lot of regular features, which I do. I wouldn’t have as many as I do if I didn’t like doing them. They give me a chance to explore my inner DJ and sometime even crack jokes and tell old stories. Martin said he’s always worried that his blog would become more work than fun. I worry about that, too, which is why I do the features. I think I’m starting to think that it’s time to do some actual blogging, though. (John watches everyone run away, screaming)

Dan suggested maybe doing songs with a word that started with “shak…” in the title, and I came up with six, including one with “Shakespeare” in the title. Of course, the studio audience had a few more suggestions, which I’ll feature this Friday. Ally wanted to know if I do a search for the songs I feature, or if I just come up with these song lists on my own. The answer, of course, is yes. I start with an idea and start with the songs that come off the top of my head. If I get really stuck, I might go searching, then what I find either becomes a song on the list or suggets another song to me, or I might be looking and one might just float out of my long-term memory and I’ll say “oh yeah…” Joey said I had her household bouncin’ and shakin’, which is one of the greatest compliments, and I thank you for that. Kip found a commercial for Shakey’s Pizza that featured Gordon Jump, who was on WKRP In Cincinnati and more recently was the Maytag Repairman. I’ve been to Shakey’s once, in 1967 when we were in California, and I thought the pizza was good, but then, I was eleven and that was almost fifty years ago, so who knows now. There’s a franchise in Auburn, Alabama, only 110 miles away; maybe I can talk Mary into a road trip…

BATTLE OF THE BANDS! (BOTB Top Photo)

My latest battle reprises the last one, with male artists instead of female ones. Right now, Michel Legrand, who composed “What Are You Doing The Rest of Your Life?” is getting his rear end handed to him by Chris Botti and Sting. You have until Saturday to vote (if you haven’t already), when I announce the winner.

socsbadgecropped

This week’s prompt was “screen,” and after a brief point about how much time I spent staring at a TV screen as a “tween,” as it were, I veered off into a discussion about how absent-minded I am, especially since reaching the magical six-decade mark, and how Evernote would probably help me, if I actually used it to capture thoughts, ideas, and things to do, and then actually referred to it on a more regular basis than “when I think of it.” Bee suggested a stream-of-consciousness journal, which sounds like a pretty good idea; thanks, Bee! Janie she’s so forgetful she can’t even remember to drive herself crazy. Very droll, Janie! Dan said he knows what a black hole Evernote can become, and it’s true. I can sit down to clean it up, and end up reading all the stuff and forget to clean it. My office is like that, too.

Looking ahead….

I have tomorrow’s M4 entry written already, and a good idea of what I’ll be doing this coming week, so be sure and tune in! That’s this edition of The Week That Was for October 16, 2016.

Author: John Holton

I'm a writer and blogger who writes and blogs about things that interest me.

6 thoughts on “The “Happy Anniversary, Mom & Dad” Week That Was”

  1. Sorry for the loss of your parents. I lost my dad over 30 years ago, my mom is still living at 93. They had just celebrated their 45th anniversary the week before he died. Almost like he was waiting for that milestone to let go. I do miss him too. Thanks once again for linking to my little page. I swear I don’t comment just so you’ll do that 🙂 Have a great Sunday and looking forward to your Week That Will Be.

    Like

    1. I try and link to people’s pages whenever possible. If it results in any additional traffic for you, great.

      Like I told my cousin yesterday (her father was Dad’s brother, and both her parents are gone now), just like that, you become the older generation. Mom’s brother (Uncle Jack) and sisters are all still alive, so I’m not quite the oldest in the entire family, but still, you grow up thinking they’ll always be there, then all of a sudden they’re gone. Be sure and enjoy your mother while she’s around.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

